Magic Mushroom Quest, NP Northern Velebit, Croatia, September 2018

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

IMG_6466.jpg

Part 1:https://steemit.com/travel/@careassaktart/my-recent-travel-jablanac-croatia-september-2018

Part 2: https://steemit.com/travel/@careassaktart/happy-family (still opened for your upvotes!!!)

Twingo takes me everywhere! Twingo is my airplane!

IMG_6465.jpg

Part 3: Hunting The Magic Mushrooms On Balkans

I've been studying, searching, picking, eating & selling mushrooms since I became a vegetarian. In that time I realized that if I don't start growing & finding my own natural food, that I will surely be hungry or, even worst - ill & sick! & that is no good because everything was given to us on this planet Mother Earth! It is a paradise for us but we are unfortunately destroying it. Nevertheless, there is still hope & there will always be as long as humanity has any empathy for themselves & for other living beings - Earthlings!

Let's go back to the mushrooms - I've been hearing a lot in the last approx. 10 year that magic mushrooms could be found in all temperate & tropic areas on this beautiful planet & also I've been hearing that there are people who actually found the magic mushrooms in Balkans too! But I have never had a chance to meet those people & learn from them so I ventured into my own adventures!

So, I was searching for the areas where I still can find cows living open air on the pastures & shitting all over the place & which are more than 800 m high above the sea level. Then I got a hint that Velebit has all these parameters: the height & the cows running around! I still didn't know much about the Balkan magic mushrooms species & how to recognize the real ones but I took a mobile phone & the camera & went for a short & sweet research trip!

This is what I found:

probably Panaeolus cinctulus or Panaeolus foenisecii or Panaeoulus Sphinctrinus

IMG_6467.jpg

IMG_6468.jpg

IMG_6476.jpg

IMG_6477.jpg

another specie - possibly Psylocybe merdaria or maybe the small Panaeoluses

IMG_6478.jpg

another specie - Agrocybe molesta

IMG_6472.jpg

IMG_6473.jpg

another specie - don't know this one at all

IMG_6475.jpg

their habitat - at least 5 species of mushrooms were growing there on the cow dong:

IMG_6479.jpg

IMG_6480.jpg

IMG_6481.jpg

IMG_6482.jpg

IMG_6483.jpg

IMG_6484.jpg

I took some of these samples home to make the spore prints but as my home was about 100 km away, the mushrooms were changing colors after picking & I didn't make the right systematization & in the end I couldn't be precise which specimen is which & whose spore print is whose... To bad! This was a big mistake! & that's the reason also why I didn't try ingesting any of the mushrooms I picked!

You need to be very careful with the mushrooms!

Part 4:

On this off-road drive with my reliable Twingo I made some encounters & great shots too... The bikers you could have seen in a video came down to the same point where I stopped & we had few shots taken there:

IMG_6488.jpg

IMG_6489.jpg

I realized that a lot of tourists come to the NP Northern Velebit, mostly the active tourists with bikes or hikers or the free-climbers... Unfortunately, a lot of hunters-killers too & to many lumberjacks! But what can I do about it?! It's an organized, legal mafia...

I hope that this travel post will satisfy the adventurers & nature lovers to drop an upvote or two! & of course, all the comments & resteemes are very much welcomed!

Follow me for more "art-travel-food" posts!

Thank you! Stay good & do good!

IMG_6490.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you very much! 😃

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=careassaktart
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=magic-mushroom-quest-np-northern-velebit-croatia-september-2018


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00