Bulgaria and I (part III)

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Because Bulgaria was always here, close to me (“neighbor and friend country” was the name I heard in all my childhood), I had a feeling of familiar while walking the streets of Veliko Tarnovo, although I was there for the first time and I do not understand the language except for a few words.

The town - known as “The city of the tsars” - managed to impress me, even if I did not succeed to visit the most important touristic objective: The palace of Bulgarian tsars located on Tsarevets hill, one of the three hills the town is built on.

The truth is I planned the 2 days I have stayed in Bulgaria, outside Veliko Tarnovo, in Arbanasi and Tryavna and I do not regret it, but I will definitely come back to Veliko, to see it all.

This first time I saw just a little part of it, I’ve spent there a few hours in the evening and a few hours next morning and saw the same things: by night and by day.

20180715_150524-01.jpeg

20180715_145452 - Copy.jpg

Saturday night I discovered and admired the houses from the hills above Yantra River. Then I reached the Archeological Museum and the 1844 Cathedral of the "Birth of the Theotokos”. From here, near the Cathedral, I saw an impressive light show on Tsarevets Fortress.

20180714_220433.jpg

20180714_215500.jpg

Walking the streets next morning, I re-discovered the Archeological Museum; it has this beautiful inner courtyard. Unfortunately, there was not an English tour guide. Because of the beauty of the building and panoramic view, this is a place where the newlyweds come to be photographed.

20180715_152521.jpg

20180715_152308-01.jpeg

20180715_151852-01.jpeg

20180715_151653-01.jpeg

20180715_151411-01.jpeg

The food is tasty and cheaper than in Romania. I’ve eaten at Casa di Bianco Restaurant located in centrum, near a little park with a statue – symbol – named the Mother Bulgaria, representing a woman who’s kneeling as thankfulness of the dead Bulgarians in wars.

You can find here my previous two stories about my short trip to Bulgaria:

https://steemit.com/ocd-resteem/@cristinaaa/bulgaria-and-i-part-ii

https://steemit.com/ocd-resteem/@cristinaaa/bulgaria-and-me

Sort:  

Is there anywhere else where food is not cheaper than Romania. I live next to Serbia and you can't imagine what tasty food you can eat for the equivalent of 50RON. And there's the baclava also... The best I ever had.
Great pics by the way. I see you had also good weather over there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, not everywhere, but I see your point. I just transited Serbia once, last year, I don't know much about prices there.
Thanks for stopping by!

Very nice architecture photos! The night photo really turned out well. That can be pretty tricky to do. That courtyard with all the arched windows and doors is my favorite. That looks like a great place to explore.

They couldn't have chosen a better building for the Architecture Museum. Unfortunatelly, I had a little time to explore. Thanks, you're too kind refering to my night photos.

Dear @cristinaaa,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Yes, I agree to include my story into the project. Thank you very much!
This is a great initiative and I'll participate in the future again.

Awesome, we look forward to read more of your stories! See you around @cristinaaa!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I cannot help but wish to travel every time I see your shares of different places to visit. It's not as though I haven't traveled yet; but you make scenes at night in Bulgaria seem like movies.

Thank you so much, I'm overwhelmed!

Congratulations @cristinaaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65