Istanbul and I

in #travelfeed6 years ago

They say that you come back home from holiday, but your mind remains a little bit longer. I know it's true, although I'm home, my mind still wanders through Istanbul. To the seashore, near fishermen, to Galata bridge or Sultanahmet square. To narrow streets climbed every day by foot; but what a delight when you stop to catch your breath and turn around to see the sea and boats in the beautiful sunset light.

Or maybe they are wrong, not your mind remains behind, but your heart. Cause you realize, once you got home, that you miss the time spent there, how it felt, looked or tasted.

I've always said that feeling good in a place is related to the people living there. And the people from Istanbul are warm, nice and calm. Also, I give a lot of credit to the sea. What a blessing to live near it!

SAM_4308-01.jpeg

20180906_133339-01.jpeg

SAM_5186-01.jpeg

It was like looking to the world through this huuuge window (like the ones below, from theTopkapi Palace) and see it colorful, little pieces of mosaic assembling together perfectly.

SAM_5139-01.jpeg

SAM_5152-01.jpeg

SAM_5143-01.jpeg

SAM_5150-01.jpeg

The taste was sweet, like the corn on the cob, like extraordinary Turkish delight that I couldn't get enough of it, me, who usually don't eat sweets, or chilling like my favorite desert of all: rice milk pudding.

Before going on holiday, I like to read a little about the place and what's to see there. But I don't stick to a plan, I let myself to be carried away by the city itself although I might miss some famous objectives. That's what I did in Istanbul and I don't regret it. And a few times the city was represented by beautiful children, up to 18, wearing a sort of uniform on which it was written: "ask me". They helped a lot with simple explanations and big smiles. My Istanbul was about them too.

SAM_4467-01.jpeg

Sort:  

I also feel nostalgic about my vacation when I return back home. But it's a good sign! It means that you had the best time there!

I have enjoyed your post and featured you in my entry to Pay It Forward Curation contest held by @pifc. You can see my entry here: https://steemit.com/payitforward/@delishtreats/week-25-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Have a nice day!

Thank you very much, dear Martina, much obliged.
I wish you a beautiful day too!

I spent two nights in Istanbul, so far... but i never visited it. I stayed there because I was going to (and back from) Moldova! Maybe I can go there someday. At the moment, Turkey's political situation leaves me a bit uncomfortable.

PS: I've found your post because @delishtreats suggested it in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest. Well done!

Thank you and thank @delishtreats again!
I didn't feel any discomfort due to the political situation, I recommend to visit it when you have the chance. I liked the arhitecture, people, food, sea, ... and besides that, everything it's cheaper than in Romania.

I see you're from Portugal, I've visited Lisboa 5 years ago. I loved Gulbekian Museum, little restaurants where I've eaten best sea bream ever, the planes landing all the time, the ocean, the people never rushing, the narrow streets and beautiful buildings.

Very nice! I'm glad you liked our little country by the sea!

What a lovely post! I love how you research a bit before a trip, but let the city take you once you are there. My husband and I do the same; and it really is the people, and of course the children that make a city beautiful...oh, and the water! Your photos are beautiful too :)

I submitting this post to c-squared, and I found it because @delishtreats featured it in her entry to our Pay it Forward Curation Contest. You are more than welcome to submit an entry of your own too! :)

Thank you! I'm grateful and overwhelmed.

Holidays are always good...and if it comes out to a place where you never been before is like visiting a paradise. ...and who wants to come back..from such lovely place ... Nice post with super awesome picture...i can see a good photography skills in you.....and also a great traveller who plans the trip and execute it perfectly....

Found you on pifc link......love to read your post...keep up the good work👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your nice words!
I too enjoyed your last post with trains in India.
Followed!

Multumesc Frumos 👌 ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, ha 😊
Eu mulțumesc!

I love the window with the stars in it! Very cool.

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I'm very grateful, thank you @viking-ventures!

Wonderful post! I found you from @delishtreats's Pay it Forward contest entry for the week. Keep up the great work.

Thank you so much!

That looks like a beautiful place. Somehow, it reminds me of the Aldabra Palace un Granada. Nice photos!

I've never been to Spain, it's on my list.
Nice words, as always, thank you!

I've never been to
Spain, it's on my list. Nice words,
As always, thank you!

                 - cristinaaa


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

If you do make the trip to Spain, I would definitely recommend seing the Alhambra Palace in Granada. It has fascinating architecture, is very beautiful, and is also listed as an UNESCO World Heritige Site.

MM201320131116-EOS_6831.jpg
Alhambra Window Detail

I'll keep that in mind.
Your photo is beautiful.

Dropping by and supporting your post @cristinaaa. It has been featured by @delishtreats, as an entry into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest.

As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it!

”They say that you come back home from holiday, but your mind remains a little bit longer.“

"Or maybe they are wrong, not your mind remains behind, but your heart. Cause you realize, once you got home, that you miss the time spent there, how it felt, looked or tasted."

Having recently returned, from a long trip to the Northwest and the Pacific Ocean with my beloved life mate, I think part of me is still there, as I did not want to come back from it ... So, yes, I can vouch for what you say here! 😊

”And the people from Istanbul are warm, nice and calm. Also, I give a lot of credit to the sea. What a blessing to live near it!“

Nice to hear your perspective on the people there. That is to their credit you feel this way!

And fascinating what moves us. For someone like myself, who had never been to the ocean until 19 yrs. old, I find a similar feeling when I am able to get up into the "high country" of a beautiful mountain range. And sit near a waterfall, if at all possible ...

In common, they share the sound of the movement of our precious water. From the beautifully crystal clear running water tripping over rocks on its way to the sea, to the sound it makes upon arriving in the surf washing up onto the shore ...

Very nice pictures to illustrate your post. While we cannot know if we might ever be similarly blessed to see it ourselves, we've now had the opportunity to see it through your eyes.

Thank you for your effort here to add value to our Steem blockchain!

Thank you so much for your support and nice words! I'm glad to be part of this community.
I enjoyed your post about the Botanic Park, it made me wonder how our Botanic Garden looks now, I guess I'll make a visit soon thanks to your beautiful story and pictures.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66