You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel adventures - BERLIN - Day 2

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Cool! I speak several languages but no French. But I can ask where is the toilette :D When we realized how cheap was taxi in Paris we started to use it. We were getting crazy when we were trying to use their metro!

I would go to New York as there is a huge vegan scene. I would love to be a few days in a city where I would have no problem to find whatever I want :D

Looks like you traveled a lot across the US! I've heard that Michigan is very nice. You also have some vineyards, right?

Sort:  

I took a year of French in high school and retained at least some of it so with the help of a traveler's dictionary I managed. Their metro isn't that bad once you understand the system, it's just a bit odd at first XD

There is a lot of vegan food in New York, and a lot of just about anything else you could want. It was nice to be able to try a variety of food and my mom wanted to visit a famous deli there that was actually really good too :)

My mom was always a traveler, and since I'm an only child I was always the natural choice to go with her so she didn't have to do it alone. I live in Kansas now which is the furthest west I've ever been, but we did a lot down south in the Florida/Georgia/South Carolina region and I've been to New Orleans, Chicago, New York and Washington DC on top over the years plus a trip to the Canada side of Niagara Falls.

A little further north in Michigan there's some vineyards, but it's not a particularly noticeable thing and most of them are very small and local. The biggest attraction besides Detroit itself (which is a lot like how you described Paris, only worse in my opinion) is the Mackinac Bridge and the associated island and city. Mackinac Island is gorgeous and the city on the mainland is mostly tourist-y stuff but it's still worth seeing. Walking the bridge was something I did a few times and it was a blast, and quite the powerful experience :)

I don't know many Americans speaking foreign language :) We had a few expats at work and they were all saying they wished to grow up in Europe because of its variety and drive to learn other languages. So you did it very well!

That is so cool to have a mom who is a traveler! When I was a child I barely traveled to a village next door :D I heard so much about Niagara Falls! But it is a bit too touristy now, isn't it?

Ow, I thought they had some big vineyards there :D Thank you for the tip! If I would ever visit Michigan I would know what to do :)

I'm truly sorry for getting back to you after a few days.

I don't so much 'speak' a foreign language as I took several different ones in high school due to the requirements but barely passed because they just don't stick in my head. If I've got a traveler's dictionary with some base phrases I can at least try at them, though, and I've found that a lot of people have the opinion that tourists don't bother trying and think that everyone should just speak English so it tends to surprise people when I actually bother to try which is always a bit nice. Or rather, when I say in their language "Excuse me, I don't speak much of [insert language here], do you speak English?" and they are happy enough that I tried :)

On that count I do know that I'm lucky, some people don't get to travel like that. Niagara Falls can be a bit touristy, but that's kind of what made it nice? We took the boat trip up to the falls, went behind the falls, all that good stuff. Really powerful experience that, standing in a cave under this huge waterfall so close you can literally almost touch it and just hearing the roaring all around you. And we took a bus tour to get to know the area and the history and stuff, which was really nice. Speaking of vineyards, that's a good place for them. I don't really drink but the icewine was really good and my mom came away with a few bottles. I even got some icewine flavored tea that's really amazing and a little more my speed.

That's alright, sometimes stuff happens. I've had a crazy few days myself so I know how that goes :)

Not everybody is good with languages. But that's fine as I'm sure you're great in something else :) And it's amazing to show that you try. People appreciate it a lot.

It looks like they are so many activities that you can do at Niagara Falls. It is definitely a must see location then :)

Oh, I love wine! Especially the red one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69