Come With Me To Trimble Hot Springs, Colorado!!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Trimble Hot Springs


unnamed-1.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit


If it's one thing that I love (and I love many things), it would be going to a hot spring. One of the many reasons I moved to Colorado was to explore the mountains, drink fresh clean water, breathe fresh air and visit as many hot springs as humanly possible.

For the past two years this has been quite an adventure and every time I need me-time it is to go soak in some good water and enjoy the outdoors. The short movie I took six hours south didn't work out due to many factors, facts that I would not share in a blog but it had to do with water rights, control over land and minerals.

It took me a couple of weeks to assess the situation, but thankfully I didn't make the final decision to purchase property I found in that location. However, I did take the time to enjoy the interesting water of Trimble Hot Springs in Durango, Colorado.

unnamed-4.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

According to Dr. Weil, soaking in hot springs is more common in Europe and Japan than in America. Dr. Well stated hot spring therapy is good for:

Musculoskeletal problems, as well as for high blood pressure, eczema and a variety of other complaints.

unnamed-3.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Personally, I've found different waters do different things some are skin, mood, or bone enhancing depending on the mineral content and heat levels. My preferences is around 108 degrees fahrenheit and completely nude. For some reason, even if it's only in my mind I feel as if the water is completely healing everything. But again, is totally subject to the above factors.

unnamed-5.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Geologically speaking hot springs, also called thermal spring by Britannica is explained to be:

Most hot springs discharge groundwater that is heated by shallow intrusions of magma (molten rock) in volcanic areas. Some thermal springs, however, are not related to volcanic activity. In such cases, the water is heated by convective circulation: groundwater percolating downward reaches depths of a kilometer or more where the temperature of rocks is high because of the normal temperature gradient of the Earth’s crust—about 30 °C (54 °F) per kilometer in the first 10 km (6 miles).

unnamed-7.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Interestingly hot springs and geysers are:

Manifestations of volcanic activity. They result from the interaction of groundwater with magma or with solidified but still-hot igneous rocks at shallow depths.

unnamed-2.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The above photo is of a regular swimming pool on the property that the locals bring their children for swimming lessons and just to relax in the sun. I'm not a chlorine fan so I tend to stay away from these types of pools. The day was very relaxing with a band playing relaxing music, some people playing football, and others taking a nap under the lovely shaded trees.

unnamed-8.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Trimble Hot Springs history was a favorite Puebloan camp between 1000 to 1200, but was "abandoned." The Ute took over the area and this was a favorite hunting site until 1882 when the Trimble's built a hotel on the property.

Over the years owners have experienced fires of the entire facilities, debt and having to sell their land, which many say was a Native American curse placed on the lands. Peace existed from 1957 until 2006, when the Bear family purchased the hot springs and the Ute Chief's accepted the invitation to bless the lands.

unnamed-9.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The photo above is of the actual hot spring and in the far back is the hottest water coming straight from the source. I found the water to be quite chalky and had a drying effect that I had not experienced before in any hot spring I had visited. Where most of the people are sitting the water was cooler in temperature, but too cool for my soaking preference.

unnamed-6.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The price of entry was average in Colorado of approximately $20 USD and fairly clean. Sometimes the cleanliness can be an issue since there are many foreign tourists and/or the cleaning crew do not visit the area often enough. The wooden lockers were nice but the water served was not filtered. Fortunately, with all my hot spring excursions I've learned to bring my own gallon of bottled water along, towel, water sandals, and shower shoes.

unnamed.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

More thank likely I wouldn't go to this hot springs again unless I was in the area and had nothing to do. My skin took on a nice glow, my bones felt pretty good afterwards, and I was relaxed. The pool wasn't kept to the cleanliness I prefer with bugs, leaves, and dirt floating in the water, but if I was desperate to go to a hot spring I would do it again. If I had to rate the place I would say 2.5 out of 5 stars due to lack of cleanliness and only having one hot spring pool. I hope you enjoyed coming along with me to Trimble Hot Springs. Peace.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

Sort:  

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59