You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Out of the comfort zone, and into the wild north west! Day 1

in #travelfeed5 years ago

One of my biggest wishes in life is to sleep in a tent one day :)) it's a great thing you didn't cancel it, I would have loved as well to have adventures like that!

Sort:  

You should definitely do it Emma! Try it in your garden first. I have a very warm sleeping bag, an inflatable sleeping mat and a ground liner which really keeps me warm. :)

You know what, I'm actually gonna try that in my garden this summer :D it's usually too hot to sleep in my room anyways, the only thing I'm always scared of is scary bugs or wasps in my backyard which ones attacked my sister at night but hopefully it wont happen to me! By the way, where did you get your sleeping bag? If there's an online place I can order it from I'd love to get one like that :)

If you have a tent with a built-in groundsheet, just make sure it's zipped up when you're away from it and you won't get any bugs. Also, if you cook near your tent (but not inside it!) the smoke keeps the bugs away.
I got my sleeping back from Decathlon. It's a big French-based international store, so I think you should be able to order it. Mine is a down sleeping bag and it weighs less than 1kg. I did a lot of research before buying it, so I know that it was great value for the price.
If you're not going to carry your gear on your back, you can get an equally warm sleeping bag for a cheaper price, but it would weigh more.
In cold weather I also use a cotton "mummy liner" when needed to add extra warmth, and a silver car windscreen frost cover as a ground liner, which I bought from Lidl for about £2.50.
I bought my inflatable sleeping mat from Amazon - it's a Unigear Ultralight one. Takes about 20 puffs to inflate it :)

Thanks a lot! I will definitely look into it, if I succeed in ordering the same one I'll be very happy cause it seems like the perfect one for me :) I just hope I won't forget I have an actual bed and get used to sleeping outside every night :D although I wish I could lol.
Thanks again for all the info! :)

Haha - yes you could get used to sleeping outside. Though in Scotland the weather would soon remind you of that nice warm bed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81