Budapest - Part 4 - The Flag Ceremony

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Yesterday I posted about the Parliament, Kossuth Square And Statue and today I'd like to share with you the flag ceremony that I was fortunate to witness at the Parliament.

595qeajmf9.jpg

To be honest I didn't know there's one, I thought the flag is there 24/7 but I was wrong, that's not true.

fab98cqo6i.jpg

After doing some research I found out that there's a ceremony.

knskbflehf.jpg

The national flag is brought out and raised every day at 8:30 in the morning and then taken down at 17:30 in the evening, 18:30 during summer.

o872ig3syb.jpg

This task is carried out by nine members of the Crown Guards and Palace Guards, among which there's a drummer.

z6vi0gzhyk.jpg

I heard the drum but now that I'm looking at the photos I can't see the drummer.

5316cj8lhw.jpg

This task must be carried out with attention because it's about the country's flag that deserve the utmost respect.

3e2cmlhim4.jpg

The flag can't touch the ground.

rjrs195xiu.jpg

These solders are listening to the commends given by the leader.

mfxxrgi5kz.jpg

Sorry for not using the official ranks but unfortunately that's different in every country and I just have no idea which one I should use.

0zcnxqws2f.jpg

The flag was folded and taken to its place till the next morning.

sx9e3wo5zr.jpg

I've never seen a flag ceremony live before and this was accidental as we were there at the right time, it wasn't planned. However, I'm glad I could witness this ceremony. The place was full of tourists, I don't know if they were there for the ceremony or just like us, they were at the right place the right time.

This is the fourth part of my journey. Read the other parts here:
Budapest - Part 1 - Shoes on the Danube Bank
Budapest - Part 2 - West End City Center
Budapest - Part 3 - Parliament, Kossuth Square And Statue

Useful information
Website
Address: Budapest, Kossuth Lajos tér 1-3, 1055 Hungary
Coordinates 47.506944°N 19.045556°E
Metro 2 and tram 2 takes you there, get off at Kossuth Lajos Square station.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.
eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on @ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=erikah
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=budapest-part-4-the-flag-ceremony


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for sharing about it great to look at this one

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #643.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Many thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99