Hiking through the ultimate gorge of Europe!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Some people refer to it as Europe's longest gorge while others call it Europe's grand canyon! One way or another it is the Samaria gorge and it is one of the greatest experiences on Crete, Greece.
Beginning at an attitude of 1.227 m (4.025 ft) and descending at sea level offers 13 km (8 miles) of rough terrain and nature’s beauty. It took me 8 hours without any rush and many stops for photography and I enjoyed every part of it!

_MG_6015.jpg

I entered to Samaria National Park paying a 5 euro ticket at 08.20 in the morning. Although it was meant to be a hot day, up there, to Xyloskalo entrance, it was a little bit chilly. One more reason to start walking!

xyloskalo.jpg

Xyloskalo means in Greek wooden stair and it refers to the simple staircase that zigzags its way down. The first 3 km are a vertiginous descent into the dark green of cypress and pine trees. The limestone peaks of Lefka Ori (White Mountains in Greek) are creating an imposing scenery while the air was filled by the scent of wild herbs and flowers.

_MG_5284.jpg

trees.jpg

flowers.jpg

_MG_5237.jpg

Along the way there is access to fresh water as well as foresters with donkeys that will assist you if you have an accident or for any reason you can’t walk out. At the end of this first part of the hike I found myself to the rest area of Agios Nikolaos named after the little chapel of Saint Nicholas that lies on the spot.

_MG_5331.jpg

hikers.jpg

_MG_5322.jpg

_MG_5452.jpg

The second part is less steep, following the stream that runs down the gorge. This part is inaccessible during winter and spring, that’s why the gorge is open for the public from May till October. At some points the path goes in the stream but it also goes uphill and downhill. The whole time the thriving flora and the amazing mountains are a constant compensation over any sings of weariness.

_MG_5434.jpg

_MG_5604.jpg

_MG_5572.jpg

hikers-2.jpg

At the middle of the route there is an abandoned village. Kato chorio had 75 residents in 1900 but in 1962, that the area was declared National Park, there were only two families in the village, who left in 1966 after the state expropriated their land. Now it is a large rest area that most of the hikers choose for their pre-packed picnic. It was there that I had the pleasure of meeting the Cretan wild goats (Capra aegagrus) the largest wild animal on the mountains of Crete that has been listed as vulnerable since 1996. The ones that I met were very familiar with the presence of people so not so wild any more :)

_MG_5736.jpg

_MG_5815.jpg

_MG_5877.jpg

_MG_5726.jpg

After getting some rest and a nice lunch break I was ready for the second half of the hike. It was around 13.30 and as much I enjoyed myself, I had to speed up a little bit.

_MG_5849.jpg

_MG_5886.jpg

_MG_5895.jpg

No matter how many pictures I had seen or how many descriptions I had read nothing could have prepared me for the sublime scenery of those last kilometres. I was looking my fellow hikers as tiny specks in a monumental landscape. I saw fossils on the rock surfaces and ravine walls almost vertical and hundreds of meters tall. I saw the illustration of thousands of years of geological history on those walls in the form of colourful wavy lines. I really don’t think that I can find the words to fully express what I saw.

_MG_5916.jpg

_MG_5955.jpg

_MG_6024.jpg

_MG_5963.jpg

gates.jpg

I left Samaria awed by the magnificence and overwhelmed by the beauty of this path. Now I know why thousands of people pass this gorge every day. If you ever come to Crete and you are into hiking this is a definitely must do!

_MG_6007.jpg

All the pictures were taken by me with my Canon EOS 7D and a Canon EF-S 15-85mm lens attached.

Thank you for reading!

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Wow, what an incredible experience! Thanks for sharing it with us through your photos and words :) Excellent post!

Thank you for been so encouraging and for the resteem, too :)

wow :) Love your posts

Thank you for the encouraging comment and for your support!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you :)

Hi fotostef,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you @curie!
I really appreciate your support!

I followed this link from the @curie Discord chat. This an amazing photo essay. And, your commentary with the pictures makes it an engaging travelogue.

Thank you so much for coming over to check it out, I really appreciate it!
It's great to know that you found me through @curie :)

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Fantastic post from a magical place. Samaria was one of the best places I visited when visiting Crete. The smell of pine forest mixed together with all the naturally growing herbs - the smell was mystical, the mountains above was sitting in the clouds, the light was magical - the whole experience was so strong that I will never forget it! I have to make some series from Crete because it is amazing island! Good job, thanks for sharing and bringing back beautiful memories!

Thank you for stopping by!
Magical place indeed!
I would love to see Crete through your vision :)

Wow! I didn't know that we had something like that in Europe! I have a few months to travel now so I'm going to look at Crete too as I don't want to miss out on this adventure!

Your pictures are amazing! Thank you for sharing!

You should come, it’s definitely worth it :)
Thank you for your support!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you @travelfeed for your support!
After all #travelfeed is my favourite tag!

Happy to hear that :) Keep your great posts coming!

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Thank you so much for coming over to check it, I am glad that you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97