MyPictureDay: Almont Inland Resort

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)


According to ancient stories and folklores, the name “Butuan” originated from a fearsome warlord and chieftain named Datu Buntuan. Other stories suggested that the name originated from the batuan fruit which is plentiful in the area.

They say that the city of Butuan is a city that witnessed over 1695 years of recorded history. It's pretty amazing right? Butuan City is not just about colorful history and rich culture but it also boast as one of the oldest cities in Mindanao.

Butuan was once dubbed as Timber City of the South because it serves as the main logging hub in the Visayas and Mindanao. Today, Butuan City takes pride as the Home of the Balanghais which are large wooden vessels during the pre-hispanic period.

The people of Butuan is best known for its warm and distinct hospitality. I know for a fact because I spent my elementary and high school years in this city.

Way back September last year, after seven long years, I was able to visit the place that I would always call home, Butuan City. I can still hear our chants and shouts in the streets, it really brought back a sense of nostalgia.

The city used to be timid and aloof but it was totally different when I visited. Change was really evident, new structures and new establishments are almost everyone. But despite all these recent developments in the city, there is this one place that I have been longing to visit as a young boy and that is the Almont Inland Resort.

Glad to receive an invite for a weekend stay-cation at the resort, I was able to spend several days which I think enough to catch up with whats new in the city.

Before I show you around to Butuan City, here are snaps from Almont Inland Resort.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71