You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Berlin vegan experience

in #travelfeed6 years ago

howdy there delishtreats! my my my...where do I start with this thing...well, I know almost none of the dishes, it all was totally foreign to me but somehow it also sounded wonderful!

I have no idea how they make much of the things with no dairy products like the donuts! Oh my gosh those donuts looked amazing, I'd love to try vegan donuts! How do you make those anyway? Do you make them at home?
Anyway this was very informative and educational, in short: a wonderful post!

Sort:  

Good Morning cowboy! I'm so glad that you liked this post!

All of them were delicious. Dairy products are replaces by nut milks. You have different sorts, such as milk from soy, almonds, hazelnuts, cashew, etc. The eggs are replaces by flax seeds, chia seeds or aquafaba (depends on what you're making). It's very easy to live without dairy and I'm very happy about that as dairy made me sick.

I'm not preparing donuts at home as I don't really have a sweet tooth :) I eat sweets just occasionally.

Thank you for your comment, jonboy! :)

howdy this fine Saturday delishtreats! oh how interesting, I didn't understand how dairy can be replaced. what form is the seeds in, something made into a more liquid form? I have a hard time envisioning how seeds can replace butter or cream cheese or something.

And what is aquafaba? never heard of it but I'm so glad that you were able to get away from dairy. I also found lenasveganliving I think it is? very informational and interesting, I'm sure you are good friends because vegans stick together like white on rice.

Maybe she has recipes for donuts! wow...the only thing I like more that castles are donuts! but I haven't have one for probably 6 months.

So what is your plans for the weekend or is that classified?

It looks like normal milk :) You blend water and nuts, then filter it through a cloth and voila! MILK! :)

Butter can be made from vegetable oils - very delicious! Cheese can be made from cashews. I make one at home and my friends love it. Aquafaba is the liquid that you have in a can with chickpeas. It works like egg. You can make mousse or meringue out of it.

Yes, I know Lena :) And we are good friends. Me and you stick together too and you're not vegan, are you? :D

I never had donuts before I went to Berlin :D It's not that usual here..

Yes, that is classified information. You'll have to wait for my posts :)

what the??? we stick together but I can't ask what you're doing this weekend? yawser! I suppose that is another one of your dragonian rules that you just made up? lol. I used to be able to ask a simple generic question like that but now new rules?

You need to print out the rules for talking to you each week to know what is allowed! lol.
Just for that I ain't tellin you what I'm doing for the weekend, so there!

In some ways I'm vegan of course. But I know that wouldn't be an official vegan, the strictness would take a great deal of discipline. Not that I don't have discipline but it would be a hassle in changing things around and more time than I have at the moment but at least unlike some people I have an open mind about almost all subjects. hehehe

Did you like those donuts though? weren't they wonderful? I need to find a recipe. Do you ever watch The Simpson's or do they have that show over in Europe?

How in the world can Aquafaba work like an egg? You just use a mixer and whip it up? I don't understand that one.
You are a treasure trove of great information kiddo!

I can't tell you what we've done as then you'll know what my post will be about, lol!

Hahaha, you're such a child! Are you going to post about it? No, you're not! So tell me :)

Being vegan is such an easy thing to do. I was also afraid of it, but we manage quite well and it makes us both happy.

I loved those donuts! I would not order it again as it was too heavy, but I liked it for one time :) I watched Simpson long time ago. My brother likes them a lot.

Exactly. Just like that. Then you add chocolate and some vanilla and voila - perfect chocolate mousse. It's much better than from eggs, believe me. So light and fluffy :)

Well, I had to learn a lot as I didn't want to miss anything while being vegan :) So you can ask.. if I have an answer, I'll share it with you :)

delishtreats! haha! well I wasn't quite understanding that you would be posting about your weekend, that didn't compute in my mind but now I see.

As far as being a child...thank you thank you thank you! from your mouth to God's ears! lol. you know how I like anti-aging products and methods, at least for newer readers it's in my profile description so yes I'm younger than I look, thanks.

The Simpsons, well Homer Simpson LOVES donuts and will do anything for them so in that way, and only that way, I am similar! lol.

the vegan thing is very fascinating and I keep an open mind about things and I'm learning alot from you so thank you for being so gracious and helpful!
I gotta go do some things and try to throw some kind of post together so I'm off for a few hours or so. God bless you richly!

Hahaha, yes, that was actually a compliment, lol. You should limit those products as you'll be so young soon that you'll need diapers again :D

Oh, that's right! Totally forgot about it!

I'm glad that you're open minded. That's the most important. It's my pleasure. I like to help whenever I can :)

Ok, cowboy, go and do necessary :) Talk to you later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87