Why Is Long-Term Travel So Radical?

in #travelfeed6 years ago

After I graduated college in Tampa I moved to Scottsdale, Arizona and started working at a big law firm. It was during my time there that the idea to travel was born.

Booking a one-way ticket to a far off land was a radical idea at this time. Some of my coworkers thought it was exciting. Some thought it was crazy. Some secretly thought I’d be back with my tail between my legs. Others didn’t see the point at all.

IMG_4559 2.jpg

There weren’t a ton of travel blogs back then. The only one I found was a blog written by a Polish couple who biked around the world. The woman ended up dying of malaria somewhere in Africa.

During my first year of travel, I had no intention of becoming a nomad or being on the road forever. I didn’t have it planned out. I just wanted to go and see what happened.

There I discovered that it’s common for young people from countries like the UK, Australia, and Canada to take a gap year, where they take a year off to travel the world between high school and college.

Taking this year (or even two) to explore, find yourself, have adventures and gain experiences is epic but considered normal.

Over years of traveling I discovered that the longer you’re on the road, the weirder it becomes to others.

I continued to enjoy my journey so I continued to go.


I have been out of the travel loop for four years. I see that hundreds of travel blogs and social media channels have sprung up touting this lifestyle.

I assumed that this style of travel has become more commonplace, run of the mill, regular, like a grocery store run.

But judging the reactions I’m getting to my upcoming transition, it still feels as radical and far fetched as ever.

Our plans to put our stuff into storage and bunk down in Colombia for a few months with plans to visit other places has been met with awe, wonder and shock.

But why?

More people than ever are working remotely or starting their own businesses. All that many need to earn money is a computer, an internet connection and their mind.

Even if their job requires them to be in an office, those skills they’ve acquired can most definitely be translated to some type of remote work.

So why is the idea of long-term travel still radical? Is it fear of the unknown? Thinking that finding a job will be near impossible once they come back? Or just a lack of interest?

I realize that my point of view is highly skewed. For me it’s been more abnormal to live in the same part of Florida for almost four years.

So what is it? I’d love to know. If you’re an long-term traveler, I’d love to hear what kind of reactions you’ve experienced. If you enjoy reading about travel but don’t want to go anywhere, I’d love to hear about that too.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

Hey Jasmine. Thanks for leaving that comment on my ebook and finding me on here. Great post. People think I'm nuts for living how I do (mostly Americans) Europeans get it. The psychology though is truly amazing. I almost always get from most people I meet. "I'd love to live your life!" Europeans say it with a straight face and that's it. Americans always add, "but I could never", "But that's insane", "But that's so dangerous", but........A psychologist would a field day!

However lucky for me I'm happy with my decisions and don't care at all what others think. Frankly I see people who criticize my life just basking in a sea of ignorance and propaganda, their lives are often monotonous, dull, boring, depressing, full of unhealthy addiction, just going through the motions, moving from one problem to the next, almost waiting for life to just be over. Seldom do you find someone who has worked 40 years, paycheck to paycheck truly fulfilled and happy with the journey as well as, healthy mentally and physically. Well sounds like I've got another book in me! lol

So good to connect with other like minded people on here. Up-voted and following. Keep up the great work!

Hey thanks for stopping by! Yes, many people let their fear prevent them from living the lives they want to. I'm really passionate about helping others see that anything conceivable is achievable.

Look forward to reading more of your posts :)

Once the travel bug gets you there is no cure. You wonder why other people don't want to see, experience and enjoy this awesome world just around the bend in the road. BUT this does not mean that you stop being productive. You are not only responsible for your own self but also some people around you who love you and whom you like and love. So walk the fine balance and you will enjoy life more.
Liked Voted and Resteemed

So true! I thought I was cured from wanderlust, but no :)

Thanks for showing this post some love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68