Joonto's Travels - Gdansk

in #travelfeed3 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Finally, after 18 months, I found the way, the time and even the courage to do what I love the most: traveling! It was since February 2020, when I embarked in an epic 10 days trip to London, that I didn't leave the tiny rock of Malta! Sure, I must be grateful for having spent the Covid-19 pandemic in the best place possible. Malta suffered way less the impact of President Corona. Let's just consider that we were never ever forbidden to get out of home! Should it have been otherwise, my outlook at the pandemic wouldn't have been so optimistic...

Why Gdansk?

Some years ago, out of boredom, I was “traveling” through Google Maps, exploring cities with Street View, which was the new big thing of the moment. One medieval town captured my attention more than any other place. That town was Gdansk. Its unique historical centre, with a distinctive and elegant architecture, sparked in me an immediate desire to go there. After then, life sent me to explore other sites, but I knew it was just a question of time before I could make my way to the Baltic side of Poland. This year, Gdansk decided that I waited for too long, so it literally got in my way, in my travel plan, which didn't include this town! How? Let me explain. My goal was to leave Malta for Pisa, to visit my family for the first time after the pandemic. After that, I was supposed to jump to Warsaw. However, there are no direct flights from Pisa to Warsaw. At that point, Gdansk winkled at me making its way among the other options for an intermediate flight. “You got me!” I thought and booked the flight in no time for something like 66.00 EUR, bags included! Nuts!
And here I made a mistake. I decided to spend only one day in the city. A terrible mistake, because Gdansk is bigger than I expected and because the historical centre is not the only place to see. Next to Gdansk, there is the most popular sea resort of Poland: Sopot. Luckily, my Airbnb happened to be 20 minutes walk from Sopot, so I had the chance to take a look at the seaside. Very classy, green, with wide sandy beaches and lots of seagulls, that make the atmosphere so relaxing. These birds give me a sense of peace comparable to meditation. This is what a seaside place sounds like for me and that's why I deem Malta the most surreal seaside place. We have no seagulls there and the reason is sad: they shoot every bird who crosses the sky...

If you plan to visit Gdansk, make sure to spare time also for Sopot. In summer, you can even swim here!

What can you see and do in Gdansk?

A must is to go in Mariecka Street and get lost between the food market. There are several stands with specialties from Poland and also from other countries. I stopped where I found the traditional Polish cousine.

I went for Golonka, Kielbasa and Pieczarki! What are they? Golonka is pork neck, stewed in cabbage. Kielbasa are sausages and Pieczarki are roasted mushrooms. Of course I added roasted potatoes too.

Useless to say how delicious this bomb was! I'm not kidding when I tell you that I didn't have dinner and breakfast the next day. This dish was too nutritious! A proper energy boost, designed for harsh times when people worked for real and there weren't efficient methods to escape the winter cold.
When your stomach is filled, have a walk through the Royal Avenue, where you will be amazed by the elegance of the palaces you can see. I don't feel like pointing at a building in particular, they are all too beautiful!

If I have to mention something, St Mary's Church is impressive. I read it is the biggest brick church in the world! By night, this church is majestic but also simple, humble, yet elegant.

After having admired the centre, you should head to the Motława River, where you can enjoy the glory of Gdansk's past in the Hanseatic League. Gdansk was indeed one of the most influential and wealthiest ports in the middle ages, so it comes with no surprise that it soon joined the powerful guild of the commercial sea towns of the Baltic. From here you can witness the peculiar style of Gdansk's buildings. It reminds us the complex and unique history of the city. This settlement has been under the influence of several civilizations and countries over the centuries, for long disputed between German and Polish forces. Despite these struggles, it still retains a distinct cultural identity. You can breath something different here. You can see this heritage even in the modern buildings right outside the old town. They preserve this important heritage. Respect!

Regret

I wish that in the future I'll be able to tell you more about Gdansk, but I can already tell you something: Gdansk is big, rich and outstanding. It should take a whole week to enjoy it at the fullest. I apologize with the city for spending just a day there. I promise I'll come back soon to visit the place the way it deserves!
This is what I told the clerk at the Luggage deposit. To this regard, if you have heavy bags like I did, you can leave them at Przechowalnia Bagażu LS Luggage Storage. For just 10 Zloty per bag, you can drop your stuff and store it in a safe place. They are open until 17.00, so plenty of time for your trip. Don't forget to stop by Cafe' Libertas before picking your luggage back.

I had an unforgettable caramel cheesecake with a chai latte. That's how I closed my first (but not last!) trip in Gdansk!
And I must thank Gdansk for letting me take a train after I don't know how many years. The train is one of the most fascinating means of transport, one of the few which allows you to enjoy the panorama.

See these straw rolls? Nope! They are not in Tuscany, they are right here in Poland! They accompanied my train journey from Gdansk to Warsaw. Along the way, I even managed to spot two foxes, several cow packs and even a deer! All of them under the plain sunlight! I sense that Poland will surprise me in many ways...! Stay tuned! ;-)


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @joonto! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61