The local guide – let me introduce you to Warsaw, the capital city of Poland =)

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Gooooooooood morning!

Who said that travels necessarily must be associated with long trips, especially these abroad? Well ... I do not know who said that ;) This week instead of exploring Wil Wild East further, I decided to show you a few places from Polish capital city, which I personally like very much. One of Polish poets, Stanisław Jachowicz, wrote "you praise someone else’s things while you don’t know your own goods". Well, I praise Warsaw, the capital city of my motherland, so get your sneakers and… let’s go, let’s go!!! x)))

The capital

Warsaw (in Polish Warszawa) since 18 March 1596 is officially known as the capital of Poland, however it was actually declared only in 1918 (when Poland regained independence). Looooong time, isn’t it?
Ever since I moved here, wait, wait... when was it? OMG it is already 7 years since I have been here. Not bad! But what I was saying… oh yeah, right. Since I came here (or even earlier), there have always been two groups of people: those who do not like (hate?) and these who love this city. The so-called "hate it or love it" town. Of course, I belong to the group that definitely adores Warsaw. Well, alright - sometimes the traffic jams make me insane, but who likes them? :)

20160207_135032.jpg

Hate it

Why people don’t like Warsaw? Haters list the following arguments (of course, these are only examples, probably there can be more ;)):

  • omnipresent rush,
  • traffic jams, traffic jams and once again traffic jams,
  • huge distances from one place to another,
  • expensive, expensive, expensive,
  • and, of course, people are unpleasant, many careerists.

I also noticed that the majority of people that I talked to, indeed they have been to Warsaw, but they never lived here. And they never gave chance Warsaw as a place to stay. Of course, I agree that there are traffic jams, that people are in a hurry. But is it the only place where actually it exists? On the other hand, is it really soooo far away to get from one place to another? The transportation is really well developed here. Is it expensive here? It depends where and what you would like to do. If you spend your precious time in bars and/or restaurants, well it definitely won’t be that cheap ;)

The most unfair opinion, however, is that people are unpleasant here. I will never agree with this. OK, you can find different types of extremely self-confident chaps, but where they aren’t? The question is, with whom you are hanging around and spend your time. Nobody tells you to be with nitwits ;) From my end, I can tell that the majority of people that I met here (including natives from Warsaw) are super nice and super cool people. Therefore, let's not generalize :)

P_20180610_171851.jpg

"Umysł otwarte 24h" in Polish means that the mind is open 24/7 :)

Love it

Why I love Warsaw? There are several reasons, i.e.: there is always something going on here. On the other hand, you do not have to leave the city if you want to rest. There are many nice places where you can sit down, relax and chill out. There are a lot of things to do, many sport or scientific objects, where you can go to. You really do not need a bag of money to have a good time here. And the most important reason for me , I just feel good here :)

And what about you? What do you think about Warsaw? Have you ever been here? Warsaw-hater or Warsaw-lover? ;)

Either way, I wanted to share with you some photos that I took while hanging around this beautiful city.

P_20171206_190454.jpg

Bang! For the starters the most popular building in Warsaw – the Palace Of Culture and Science. For some it is the "Soviet gift" for the Polish nation, however for me, this is the element of the landscape without which Warsaw would not be Warsaw.

P_20170929_061227.jpg

I love bridges. Maybe this is a weird passion, but whatever, I really love them :) One of them is Prince Józef Poniatowski's Bridge. It is special for me because this is where on May 12, 1926, at about 5 pm, President Stanisław Wojciechowski met with Marshal Józef Piłsudski. This place and date is that important as the May revolution took place here. While walking through this bridge, I often think about this event. Either way, apart from the history, it is just gorgeous :)

P_20180622_193418.jpg

I do not know about you, but in my opinion one of the coolest places for chillout is Vistula river or Vistula Boulevards. Recently, I discovered the street called “Ku Wiśle” which means Towards Vistula. A beautiful name that really attracts – it always works for me. You don’t need much time to persuade me to go there ;)

P_20180316_200503.jpg

It doesn’t matter whether it is winter…

P_20180406_181033.jpg

... or the world is awakening again - Vistula river is always a good idea! And of course, the Świętokrzyski Bridge <3 Beautiful, isn’t it?

P_20180406_183531.jpg

The Monument to the Glory of Sappers – located in the park of Marshal Edward Rydz-Śmigły at Wisłostrada also attracts tourists. It was unveiled on May 8, 1975, before the thirtieth anniversary of the end of World War II. These six huge pylons symbolize an explosion of a mine. In the center there is a sapper disarming the mine. Next to the inscription "Free Warsaw will never forget those who, with their hard work and blood, first started the work of its reconstruction" you will find tables with surnames and units of fallen sappers.

P_20180622_191358_PN.jpg

I am ashamed to admit, but this place I have just recently discovered - Mound of the Warsaw Uprising. Well, better late than... later ;)
A beautiful place, I can say that one of my favorites in Warsaw. On the one hand you have a very nice viewpoint where you can admire the capital. On the other hand, you can see this:

P_20180622_191501.jpg

Warsaw has many beautiful places that can be found absolutely everywhere. In today's post I have shared only a few of them, which I captured during numerous walks around the city.

At the same time, I also wanted to encourage you to go for a walk – in Warsaw or in any other place wherever you live or you are at the moment. We have such pearls and breathtaking views just next to us. All you need to do is… move your lovely bottoms. Sooo… hit the road! =)

Regards folks ;)

Lynxia

P_20180317_170502.jpg

Sort:  

Hello!
Great post!
Great photo!
Thank you for sharing with us!

Thank you very much Yanabrui for your kind words :)

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you very much, much appreciated! x)))

Congratulations @lynxia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Where are the new posts? :)

Congratulations @lynxia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @lynxia! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70