Going back and moving forward

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Our second outreach program last April 2019 was held in a small village in the middle of the mountains in the province of Zambales. It is called Acoje Mines. For those who may not have captured my post months ago, you may wonder what the place is. It is where I was born. The outreach has brought up a lot of memories during my early and elementary days.

060712.48.57.jpg

This is the rugged road to and from Acoje Mines. I did not have the chance to take photos on our way to the place so I did it when we were already leaving.

Yes, I was born in the middle of the mountains. As the name implies, it is a mining site and it was for chromite mining. I say it was because the mining operation was stopped. I am not sure the exact year when it was stopped but the talks spread out in 1987. We left the place in 1989 while many employees, mostly laborers, were being laid off. Few years later, I heard that the operation was totally stopped. I was not paying much attention to the details but one thing for sure is that some families did not leave the place. There is still a community to go back to. Many of them havr resulted into small time farming mainly for subsistence.

Clear and sunny sky is one of the treasures of this place. During summer from April to June, heat strikes with clear blue sky without the humid and with refreshing fresh air. That makes the heat not so scorching after all.
060712.51.12.jpg

The site is about 27 kilometers away from the town proper. That is supposed to be less than 20 minutes drive at 90 kph. However due to the rough road, travel time takes around an hour and a half up to two hours.
060712.50.39.jpg

My previous travels to the place were mostly during weekends when commute from town proper to the site is a challenge. That is because there are only two jeepneys plying the route and during weekends specially on Sunday, many residents would go down to the town as it is their market day. There were instances when there is not enough space in the jeepney for all passengers. They end up riding at the top of the vehicle. So when you hear "top load," that means you are being given the option if you want to ride at the top like this:

While it seem fun to be on top, one has to be careful riding so because it obviously is not so safe.

When the mine site was closed, they said less than 300 families were left. If those who are in there are less than 300 families, there must have been few thousands of families when we were there. The neighborhood was very close to each other. Most residences were bunk houses divided into four for four families. After the closure, I heard a comment that Acoje looks like a ghost town. When I caught this sight from a running jeepney, it's funny that I thought it is like Acoje. It may have looked like a ghost town but there are families holding on to it and doing their best to keep it alive. That tree full of hope at the back will survive the dead one.
060712.52.00.jpg

Somewhere around a third of the way to the site is this popular stream called Tucon. Travelers in private vehicles would usually stop by to freshen up from the heat and dust. Others would have picnic along the bank and will even have a quick dip specially during summer.
()

During season of mangoes, the fruits are getting ripe on the tree and falling rotten on the ground. Why is that? There are not enough consumers in the area. Almost every household has their own mango tree that they do not need to give to each other. It is saddening to think that the produce is just getting wasted like that. If only someone would invest in trading of the products from the place, I am sure it can change the life of the villagers.
060712.53.36.jpg

Now back to Metro Manila in a corporate world, I had a chance to share with one of my colleagues as to how simple life was in the province. We both wondered what those have become. He talked about his plan to go back to their province someday and till their land. I cheered up! I encouraged him to do so because no matter how successfull people are in the concrete jungle, it is still agriculture that brings food on the table.
060712.54.04.jpg

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

Totally agree with you on this one:

no matter how successfull people are in the concrete jungle, it is still agriculture that brings food on the table.

My husband and I plan on having our retirement home in the province.

I love that idea of going back to the province. Yes, I too have been thinking about it for retirement. Cheers to our plans! 😊

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #536.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 130 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

beautiful birth village, interesting story @macoolette

Howdy macoolette! you sound like you want to be a farmer. Now THAT'S a hard life. But if you can raise your own veggies then at least you eat well! That stream looks super clear and clean. How old were you when you left the small mining village?

I got my senses as a farmer. We left farming while I was young but I guess I have seen and felt how hard it is. But then again, it is what brings food on the table. While I am in the city which most villagers would envy, I still look up to farmers and those who are keeping agriculture alive.

How old were you when you left the small mining village?

Sometimes I use such kind of questioning instead of directly asking people how old they are. Nice try! Got a good guess? 😄

lol! I wasn't even thinking of trying to guess your age. If I guessed too young you might be insulted, if I guess too old you would definitely be insulted! lol...you're a kid to me though either way! Well, not a kid but young. You want me to guess? I have no idea. 25?
I was raised on a farm so I feel the same way you do about farmers. wow, you've been posting everyday, I don't know how you have time while working full time!

I'm flattered with your guess. Let's keep it that way - a guess! 😄

I've been eating every day which gives me something to post every day. Somehow, there are pros when you don't cook. Or more specifically, don't know how to cook. 😄

I miss the farm life. Many times I dream of taking a break and reliving the life I had...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=going-back-and-moving-forward


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 47.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94