Visiting the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi.

in #travelfeed4 years ago (edited)

Good day Everyone!

It has been a long time since I wrote a none skateboarding topic blog, four months to be exact. These past few entries I have been doing more on Vlogging. It feels great to create a new blog and write up a different topic other than my main one which is skateboarding.

I have not skated for almost a month now, not because of injuries, but because of these past weeks I have been very busy with moving houses and my family visiting from the Philippines. My parents came in last weekend and it has been all tours with them. It is their first time in the UAE so I showed them around and as of this writing, we haven't finished touring. Thankfully, I got the opportunity to blog our visit the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.

The mosque started construction on 1996 and finished on December 2007. It was one of the most popular tourist destinations in the UAE. When we went there, there were a lot of tourist. It is very large, with a capacity of 41,000 people. Here are a few snaps from our trip there. Me, my son, wife, sister and my parents had a good time visiting this place.

Here is the front of the Mosque, my iPhone could not capture the whole of it. I tried but this is the best the camera can do. I should have brought my GoPro.
5.jpg

This is structure is the entrance, it will go underground and through some shops. before in 2016, you can directly go to the entrance of the mosque, but now you have to go to this underground tunnel and have some tickets, which is free, I think they have this to count the visitors coming in. Here is my Mother and My Father for their first picture.
1.jpg

My parents photo near the water mirror and the columns of the mosque behind them.
2.jpg

Me, Wife and Son photo at the entrance of the inner courtyard of the Mosque.
3.jpg

This is my mother's photo at the inner courtyard of the Mosque. The Hijab was borrowed from the Mosque, it is mandatory and women are not allowed in unless they wear one.
4.jpg

A photo of my Parents and My son inside the Mosque, the columns are beautifully designed and really looks good in photos and looks great in person.
6.jpg

My wife inside the Mosque's courtyard. As you can see, there are no people scattered on the courtyard. this is because there are specific photo area and people cannot just go around taking photos where ever.
7.jpg

And that is it!! I have lots of photos inside the main prayer hall, to describe the main prayer hall, it has the largest chandeliers you will ever see and the carpet is amazing. I choose not to share it here. Not that it is not allowed, I just don't take the rules here in the UAE lightly. This is my little way of respect towards their culture.

thank you very much for reading my blog!

All photos are mine, taken by my iPhone7plus and I edited it a little on the Snapseed app.

cheers,
@mark0318

Sort:  

Congratulations @mark0318! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48