Healthy Food Cafes in Chiang Mai

in #travelfeed6 years ago

If you’re anything like me and want to be healthy while traveling, then you’ll want to take a look at this list of awesome food options around here.

There are a LOT of different definitions of “healthy food.” I’ve changed my mind a lot over the years on my quest for true health.

I've come to the conclusion that there's no "one-size-fits-all" diet. I think for true health your diet should be specialized specifically towards what your body in particular needs.

But anyway, turns out, I’m allergic to a crap ton of stuff!

Milk, eggs, cheese, yogurt, sesame seeds, cranberry, pineapple, banana (I think because I used to eat too many of them haha) sort of gluten, but not as bad of a reaction as I get with other things.

You know, all the good things. Why can't I be allergic to lima beans?!

I was working on reversing these allergies and getting rid of them completely before I started traveling. But oops, I probably sorta ruined it.

But I found out why people think I’m pregnant sometimes when I’m not (it’s really funny to drink a glass of wine when people think you’re preggers, by the way. Cheap entertainment. Relax, people. I just have a buddha belly).

I can’t believe I just admitted that on the blockchain.For everyone to know, forever. 😁

It’s because I used to eat eggs and some stuff I was allergic to ALL the time. And it made me constantly bloated. I never related it to food. I just always thought “#IWokeUpLikeThis.” It’s also because of high cortisol, but oh well, that's another story. This is supposed to be about great things you can eat in Chiang Mai.

Anyway, not going to lie…I’ve kind of ignored lots of my own health advice while traveling, because there are SO many cool foods to explore and try! Plus, I found out that Thai food doesn’t have near as many vegetables as I thought it did…so that was a bummer.

But, once the excitement wore off and I stopped eating everything in sight, I could finally try to stick to my health goals a little more.

So, that being said, here are some places you can actually eat vegetables and healthy things in Chiang Mai:

Cat House in the Old City

Don’t worry, you don’t eat cats here. There are no cats here at all. But there IS amazing vegetarian food and health food in general. Plus, look how cute it is! I could chill here for a long time and be super happy.

One of my favorite things here is the Vietnamese Tostada. It's made with a chickpea flour tortilla, which is gluten-free. It has tofu which I don’t eat because of estrogen, so I just asked them to swap it out for chicken. When combined with cilantro, peanuts (oddly not allergic to those), lime and pickled radish, it was the perfect meal.

Ice Love You Cafe

If you’re trying to be healthy but still just REALLY need dessert. They have over 50 flavors of vegan ice cream, completely dairy and gluten free. If you’re an adventurous soul like me and wanna try crazy things just for the heck of it…I totally recommend the Massaman curry flavor.

That’s right. Curry flavored ice cream.

It’s dang good, too. Plus, there are like a million rubber ducks there and the cafe is superhero themed, sooo why wouldn’t you love it? Another thing I really liked here that was unique was the black charcoal rum raisin flavor. Ahhh, screw being healthy.

Betta House

They have a lot of options that are gluten free and dairy free and egg free. Mainly you can get just vegetables and rice, or chicken vegetables and rice. They even have a dish with kale and broccolini, all for $75- 90 baht ($2-3 USD).

Sure, it’s slightly more than the 35 baht Thai food…but it leaves you feeling so much better after you eat it. Some of that cheap Thai food literally has me feeling like I ate trash afterward.

Of course, I think I forgot to take a picture of the most important thing: The food.

Food 4 Thought

They have a lot of healthy options. Even vegan desserts with no eggs or gluten. There are also weekly meetups here on Fridays at 4:30, all on different topics! You can look it up on Facebook, the “Nomad Coffee Club."

Anchan Indian

They have lots of vegetarian Options if you just miss having vegetables. I'm not a vegetarian, but I love vegetables! I get kinda sad when I go somewhere vegetarian and it's mostly just carbs. I like those, too, but in moderation.

I love the decor here at this place. I could just chill here and never leave. I love all of the bright colored pillows and umbrellas. It’s actually where I took my pic for my intro post on Steemit!

The Salad Concept

Lots of healthy options. I mean, they freaking have the word "Salad" in their name haha.

They also have a great garden out back. Can't find it, though, because looking through 12,000+ unorganized pictures on my phone makes me want to jump off of a cliff haha.

Do any of you guys organize your phone pics?? I wanan know.

Here are a few others that I either didn’t get a chance to go to, or I didn’t take pictures of:

-Pun Pun organic cafe
-Alice’s restaurant- vegan
-Farm Story House- Organic
-Morning Glory Thai- cooked vegetable
-Sababa Israeli Restaurant

I don't have much more to say, it took me 4 hours so far to do this post actually haha so I think I need to go to sleep now.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Whoa thanks you guys!!

This is a super nice and helpful post! 16 years here and there is at least one on your list I haven't tried. More please!!

😃 I'm glad. I'll keep them coming

Your post made me hungry! i need to get food delivered to my bed! hahhaa... or maybe better if I take a break from the screen :)

Hahaha or just get it delivered to your bed lol

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and love your photos and Spider Man and some allergies and addictions can be tough. Sometimes, it is better to go on a fast, only drink water or juice for a day or longer to clean out the liver, the gut, your center, and your body can have strong reactions to some foods sometimes but that can be ok and necessary sometimes.

Haha thanks! Yeah you can reverse good sherries over time. Just have to give your body time to heal your gut lining! Thanks for reading, glad you liked your post

Awesome. Have lovely day, Princess Girl.

Thanks! You too

This place looks great. I´m from Chiang Mai. But never saw this cafe. We have to check it out. Thank you for the great post.

So cool! Let me know what you think! It would be cool to meet you when I go back! 😃

As usuall such a nice and awesome post. Healthy food is always preferred but sometimes eating junk food is good for the body 😂
Always loved your photos plus mouthwatering pics of food and ice cream

Aw thank you! Haha yep... I couldn't resist the junk food at first. Oh my goodness... Speaking of which... Mango sticky rice is my new obsession!!

Ohh nice. I'll try it ;-)

good travel and health thailand travel post thank for shearing

i wouldnt really eat here, although the food is awesome, because iam scared of the incredible hulk hehe

haha what? Why are you scared?

good post and forbidden sleep for you

Thank you. Aw why can't I sleep?

maybe you're doing my writing got a lot of responses only, sorry if wrong in my freedom

You're right! I stay up wayyy too late writing and commenting on posts. Haha it's like you somehow magically knew

Love those bright colors! I can definitely live in Chiang Mai. I thought your new post would be about Bali... 😉

Jeje tomorrow. I'm catching up on old ones from last month before I forget too much!!

Understood! I’m still catching up on old ones from years ago, as I traveled too much, never had time to write them down! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56