I Got A Concussion In Thailand

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Welp, I wanted to write a post about the super unique “Sticky Waterfalls” outside of Chiang Mai. But instead, you get to read about concussions. Fun!!

It’s kind of funny, really. I had a mis-communication with my Thai friend, Rit, again.

Luckily I just go with the flow and it's no big deal. Adventure always happens.

I asked if he wanted to go hiking at “Sticky Waterfalls.” That’s their nickname. They’re actually called Bua Thong waterfalls if you’re ever in the area and want to look them up and go!

He said sure, and picked me up and we drove to some waterfalls.

Now, the reason I wanted to go SO badly to the Sticky Falls is because in my mind, they’re a world wonder, and great for people who are accident prone like me.

Seriously, I fall down just walking on flat ground. I think it’s really fun for people around me! Free laughs at my expense! I hand them out like candy with as much as I fall down 😆.

Well, you know how normally, waterfalls are extra slippery because of the water on the rocks?

Well, these ones are actually sticky instead of slippery, so according to the internet, you don’t fall on them! The limestone rocks somehow help your feet magically grab onto the rocks with the superhuman strength of spiderman so you become invincible.

So..that’s a cool experience. I reaallyy wanted to feel those rocks underneath my feet.

Here's a picture of them that I was forced to steal from the internets because I never got to see them in real life:

You can just climb up these bad boys without falling. It's like being spider man for a day.

So I end up at some waterfalls with my Thai friend. I assume they’re the Sticky Falls.

Because reviews online said you won't fall down (and you should obviously believe everything you read online), I just walked straight onto the rocks, all confident, thinking:

I immediately fell flat on my back/neck/head/shoulders faster than you can say “fudge on a stick.”

I definitely ended up at the slippery waterfalls instead of the sticky waterfalls. And I'm definitely not as good of a climber as Spider Man 😔.

But something cool happened! He ended up surprising me and taking me to a temple that I’ve been wanting to go to! He didn’t know I wanted to go there, and I was dressed in my hobo nasty waterfall clothes but luckily they still let me in.

So, I like how I planned to go to sticky waterfalls but ended up at the temple I’ve been wanting to go to instead, haha.

It’s called Doi Suthep temple, and it’s one of the main attractions that everyone goes to when they visit Chiang Mai. It’s honestly super beautiful!!! And I’ve seen several temples since being here, but there’s something about the gold and the way this one surrounds you, and the scenery of the mountains and the city that just make it really worth going.

Offerings:

Those are just a few pics from the temple.

That was a few days ago, and I’ve had a headache since then so I went to the doctor, ‘cause I never get headaches.

If you want a doctor recommendation in Chiang Mai, this one speaks great English, costs 500 baht ($16 USD), and is apparently way better than the hospital according to basically everyone:

http://www.cmmediclinic.com/

It’s about 45 baht to take an uber there. Seriously, I did lots of research. I just saved you lots of time. You’re welcome.

I have a slight concussion, so basically I’m probably going to be dumber than I was before…lost a few brain cells, can't find them. But that’s ok. Seems I’m not bleeding internally so yay!!! I’m excited!!

Sort:  

Do we need to do a search and rescue to find those brain cells? Or where they "lost" as in ...you purposefully had them terminated? wink wink

haha thats hilarious! Not that you fell and got a concussion, but the way that you tell the story. No internal bleeding is always a good thing.

The pictures you took look amazing as well. Thailand looks beautiful. I've never been but looks like a place I should go!

Haha yay I'm glad my head trauma can be a source of your joy 😀😆 Thank you!

Whaaaaaa? Sounds like you're okay, I hope you are! If it gets worse and you need to come to BKK PLEASE let @suitcasemama and I know if you need any hospital recommendations here. We've definitely had some medical misadventures over the years here and are happy to make any recommendations, can poke around for specific doctor recommendations as well. Wishing you a full recovery!

I officially love you both. Thanks!! A week ago and still have a headache but...eh? I'm surviving? Lol it's just weird because I haven't had a headache in over 3 years. It's a good excuse to got to BKK and hang out with you guys. I had to leave the country yesterday for a visa run so I'm in Kuala Lumpur now!

Yummm, have some nasi goreng for us! Seriously, don't hesitate to reach out head stuff is no joke! Consulted with @suitcasemama (a nurse by training). She said you're "probably fine" haha! Just watch for vomiting! And she said make sure you let us know when you're in town so we can show you our favorite Thai food, also very important for recovery!

wow thanks!!! I definitely agree that Thai food is important for recovery, haha. Maybe chocolate is, too.... yeah, I'm just gonna pretend that's what the doctor ordered.

Are you guys based in BKK forever?

Chocolate definitely! The more the better I hear!

I moved to BKK in 2013, here until at least 2020 :) Plenty of time to visit!

you are very adventurer !!! :D

hehe thanks! Sometimes too much!

but don't forget safety first, then adventure

Never trust wet rocks. Never! Always stick your foot on it first to see if it's slippery!

You're lucky nothing worse happened, but I'm glad to hear you're okay and didn't have to spend too much at the doctor.

Thank you. I knowww... too trusting lol

wow that s amazing waterfall :)

Your photos are beautiful, glad to hear you are ok!

Sounds like you should go up to Pai and recover from your concussion. Get a bungalow by the river and spend your days reading and waiting for the night market to open up for some awesome food. That's what I'd do, anyway. Then again, I'd take anything as an excuse to return to Pai :)

I'm glad it doesn't sound too serious. Thanks for the funny post! The photos look awesome!

Oh noo! Hope you're well?! But i find the temple to be a good exchange :)

Wow, it is wonderful post.
I never see like this before.
I like your post.
Keep spirit @nomadicsoul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59