Travel Tunes Tuesday - Throwback Edition

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Welp, my phone got stolen…so BAM! I can’t post any new songs because I no longer have Shazaam (I just really wanted to make that rhyme).

If I haven’t been as active in responding to comments, or commenting on your posts, it’s because of the phone thing (no I wasn’t being irresponsible, or drunk, or anything like that. Some people just have a real skill for taking things right out of your purse).

Also, my laptop is having its time of the month I think, so if I’m not as active as usual, please don’t think it’s because I don’t care about steem/ steemit anymore. I just have a lot to deal with right now.

For now, I wanna play happy tunes to cheer myself up. Maybe you need cheering up, too! So I’ll play ONLY happy travel songs for today.

One of my happiest times traveling was in Costa Rica.

So, I’ll share some songs from there and remind myself of the Costa Rican saying “pura vida.”

It literally translates to “pure life” or “simple life” but it means a variety of things, like “life is what you make of it” or “take it easy” or “it’s all okay.”

I remember I was late to class once, so I was running down the street in a frantic rush to try to make it on time, and a guy on the street randomly yelled “tranquila, pura vida!”

It’s all good. It means basically to be optimistic, happy and calm despite all the negative things going on around you.

That is what I’m trying to do, even though my heart is kinda sorta breaking a little.

But, Costa Rica is known as one of the happiest countries on earth, and I think this is part of their secret sauce.

That, and maybe the gallo pinto for breakfast. That stuff is amazing.

Kumbia Kings- Chiquilla

When I lived in Costa Rica, I took a dance class, and this was one of the songs we danced to. It’s a kind of dance called Kumbia. If you watch me dance, you can safely make the assumption that yes, I got an F in that class, but I had a lot of fun.

SUPER happy vibes!!!! Oh no!!! I'm officially the type of person who says vibes now. When did this happen??

Flex- Dime Si Te Vas Con El

Same. Just Costa Rica dancing by the beach nights.

Kumbia All Stars- Anoche No Dormi

This song makes me happy, which is ironic because the very first words of the song say "Last night I didn't sleep, what I did was cry."

Well, if you just feel the beat, it's all good.

Sean Paul- Agarra Mi Mano

You all know this song I’m sure? This is the Spanish version of “Hold My Hand” by Sean Paul, but it’s the first version I heard, so as far as I'm concerned, it's the original.

Mala Fe- La Vaca

It’s a song about a cow. How can that NOT make you happy? This is probably one of my favorite songs to dance to. I dance around like a jumping bean to this.

Some of my happiest dancing times have been to this song.

One of my best Costa Rican friends was on a professional dancing team, and I went and watched him perform. That’s where I first heard this song.

"La vaca" means cow.

In English, the lyrics are "The cow! Moo! The cow! Moo! The cow! Moo! The same cow! Moo!"

😂 it's hilarious!!

Tito El Bambino- Pepe

For some reason, it was just the cool thing to say “Pepe, Pepe, Pepe, Pepe” a bunch of times with all of your friends. So this song makes me think of repeating a name a million times in a row like a moron, and you know what? It makes me happy.

Guru Josh Project- Infinity

Even though this song is in English, it was popular in Costa Rica when I lived there. Every Thursday, all of the other study abroad students would go mingle with locals and go dancing by the beach, and this song would play. The dance place was called “Happy Days” which was fitting for the theme of this post.

Thanks for dealing with my Throwback Travel Tunes Tuesday, and my use of way too many T’s at a time.

Listening to songs associated with good times made me feel a little better for now. Dang, music is some powerful stuff.

Maybe as powerful as drugs ... I mean, I wouldn't know. I've never tried to do drugs.

But, I did accidentally take a valium once.

That was super strong!!! I fell asleep on the back of a motorcycle after taking it...oops.

Music feels almost as powerful as that. I'm seriously a little happier than before!!

If you have your own travel tunes you wanna share, just make a post and tag it "traveltunes"!

Sort:  

OMG. You need to get another phone ASAP.

Is there any way we can facilitate that?

You're the sweetest!

🙈🙊🙈

How was your phone stolen? And when? While u was traveling Halong Bay? I feel so bad about it. really shameful for my country. I am really sorry about it

yeah it was on the ferry in Halong Bay. Sorry, oh my gosh, I didn't mean to shame your country!!! There were also lots of nice Vietnamese people in Halong Bay who shared their fruit with me and we hung out on a blanket! haha

No. I just feel shameful. There are someones keep ruining Vietnam’s image in tourist’s view. I feel bad about it.

Good to hear that u still had a lot of fun in HalongBay. Feel relieved a bit. Hahaa.

Don't worry. I don't blame the whole country for just 1 or 2 things happening here. You and jumart gave me a great impression, so feel proud of that, instead of shameful! Because you didn't do it! <3

thank you. and really sorry. :)

Keep your chin up @nomadicsoul . Thats really sucks that your phone was stolen. You’ve handled it gracefully, I would have had a full blown panic attack. Hang in there and dont let the music stop!

Thanks! I panicked a little occasionally on the inside and still do sometimes, but as long as I can get access to everything I need to, then in the end...it will all be ok. I just hope my computer hangs in there because it's been acting suicidal lately haha

I'm really missing the cow song, there's no video for it. Sorry your phone was stolen. I know exactly how that feels and it sucks. I'm gonna write my traveltunes post now. :)

oh no oops! Sorry! I've barely slept in 3 days so I'm blaming that on the epic fail. Adding it now.

Yay!

Did your phone get stolen before while traveling?

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

I was asking where was that great idea of Travel tunes... I am sorry for your mobile phone!!! By the way Infinity is an authentic "party song"... remind me when I was a university student and member of International Student association in my hometown. Between Pepe and la vaca mu I do not know in which one I laughed more :D:D :D I agree with you Latin America's music usually instill happyness :) You provide some nice examples :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94