[PHOTO ESSAY] A road trip to Kootwijkerzand, The Netherlands

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [PHOTO ESSAY] A road trip to Kootwijkerzand, The Netherlands


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Those clouds attracted me... 😃
Somehow it felt like you were at the beach... except no water! Cool shots!

Haha! It's a trick photo series! ;-) Thanks for stopping by @ackhoo!

Those are nice photos. Interesting filter. The greens pop out. Are you posting these on Steepshot too?

Hey @risemultiversity! I've tried out Steepshot in the beginning and might try again in the future. They now have an app. I have to find out if they have better URL display already, since I didn't like the 'strings' they had in the beginning. Will see. But these photos will not be on Steepshot since all things posted on Steepshot will also end up on Steemit and I don't like double posting :-)

wow that is pretty surreal having sand dunes in the center, I would love to see what shots you would take of the Sahara desert.
The Burren in Ireland, is like no other place in the country, it is very unique and beautiful, there are also a lot of megalithic tombs there xx

Thanks for the tip! I'm busy googling now :D I've been in Northern-Ireland but have not yet seen a lot of Ireland yet!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Wow. It's not a feature I'd associate with the Netherlands. I would associate it with here, however. I am less than 40 miles from the 'Imperial Sand Dunes' a huge area of huge dunes. The wind has blown hard the last two days, I could go out today and see the changes... It is where Star Wars sand scenes were filmed.

If you want a place that is completely different but also the same, there is an area of white dunes in Eastern Washington that also harbors some of the oldest known trees on earth. A small population survived the last ice age...

What a cool trip for you to share with us. Thank you.

And what a cool tip you shared with me! I truly believe asking locals for tips is the best and basically only way one should travel. Leave the books at home and just ask people for places to go. So I'm now busy googling your tips and will add them to my list of 'must-see places'. Old trees between white dunes sounds like a dream place to visit.

Thanks for sharing @bigtom13! :-)

Rosanne,
you are always perfect in this regard. A travel post with excellent photos! excellent

Thanks a lot @artizm! :-)

So I grew up in that area... and I won't tell you the things I did on those parking lots :D

I'm not even going to upvote this comment :')

What? That hurts!! I am protecting your romantic idea behind Kootwijkerzand... And romantic it definitely was :D

If it was truly romantic I expect a story about it - on YOUR blog :') I might upvote that one :P

haha, I also have a bit of a horror story related to that... I'll think about it :D

I’m definitely curious now ;-)

You'll read it one day on my page ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=soyrosa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photo-essay-a-road-trip-to-kootwijkerzand-the-netherlands


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I never visited veluwe when i was in the netherlands i must visit it in the future, thank you for sharing!

Yes, hope you will someday @noemilunastorta! :-)

The dunes!!! A dream .... we need to visit the coasts of Netherlands!

Yes, although these were NOT taken at the coast ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97