The Go / Travel / Balan hoo market / A calm festival held every 5 days

in #travelfeed4 years ago

Every 5 days

Cool festival

Balan hurray

I don't like crowds, but I'm always excited about going to the market. Is it because half of the market people are there? Traders waiting for others at one place without moving somewhere. To me the market is the site of the festival they are gathering. The feeling of being invited also feels a bit. It is decorated with diligence and familiarity instead of colorful lights. People get what they need at this festival that will never end for anyone. Not only what you eat and what you need to live, but also what you forget and what you dream about

Written and photographed by Jeon Jin-woo Illustration

Multiracial

Korean Traditional Market

“I feel like I've traveled,” a friend told me when I pulled up at the public parking lot and came out to the street. The streets were filled with foreigners and the small shops they run so there is no need to answer. Divided with diligent adults who regard the market as a place of life and migrants of snow with both shame and ambition. Since I live in Itaewon, it wasn't a strange landscape, but it wasn't a landscape I expected to encounter outside of Seoul. So I listened to my friend and walked down the street. We check the full route in front of the police station at the market entrance

I decided to walk the long path that is the stem of the. In front of the police station, several murals related to the independence movement were drawn along with directions.

In 1919, it was exactly 100 years ago.

Lee Jung-geun, the character in the mural, said on March 30 that he was murdered by the Japanese when he shouted Korea's independence. In honor of the incident, the words 'Long Live' were added to the Balan Market. Those dying people were represented by butterflies in murals, so you can find butterfly pictures all over the market. Just like the independence movement, defending something through sacrifice excludes you from sacrificing 'the value you have kept.' What did they imagine then? What did you dream? I walked the market, hoping I could show each other what they imagined and what I actually see and feel now.

The road wasn't clear yet, so it was only my friend and me who were nervous when I saw the dizzy scenes of cars and people. People who walk smoothly on the breathtaking streets and do not feel annoyed. Even though they did not explain anything to us, we gradually learned their attitudes. Walking down the street, I met two big but young dogs. I thought I was a wanderer, but I only played in front of one store and didn't go to another. Looking across the street, he approached, and the dogs acted without a fear, without fear. The market owner and his dogs who haven't tied up their strings made the world undaunted

Thanks to the people, I've been confused for a while. When I arrive in an unfamiliar city, I think my situation is similar to the dogs in the neighborhood. You have to look around and meet kind people. There is always a need for delicious food and a safe place to sleep. I see dogs surprised by my small movements, and I feel that I must be nervous. Thanks to the two dogs I met at the market, my friend and I could walk farther and farther away.

In the market

What can be obtained

The market landscape has taken me back to the past and also depicted the future of the future. When the barber's chair was so large that I saw a little boy with a wooden board on both handles and climbed on top of it, I could bring out a scene from my past that I had forgotten. Is it about ten years old? I would like to sit in a soft, leather chair, and because of the large back, my barber couldn't touch my head at all. After placing a wooden board on both armrests and sitting me on it, the barber wrapped a white cloth around my neck. Then the wooden board and my body are covered by a cloth,

Same i looked. I used to look through the mirrors all over the place and fell asleep soon. This memory was so forgotten that I could not say that I missed it. Whether it's good or bad, we can't remember all the days that have passed, so it's a pity that the old landscape like the market disappears. "What do you want to do with one old memory?" But sometimes it's true that one of those memories feels so precious. It's important to live well today, but some days when I look into my childhood diary

I want the day to go away. Seeing the migrants filling the market, the villagers said that Koreans came to mind 30 years ago. There was no money in the country, so I had to go outside. Some people in the market are so warm with the migrants, and others are cold to the migrants, like those who ignored the Koreans 30 years ago. However, anyway, Hyangnaup is a mixture of many races and cultures, and one side does not dominate, creating a new landscape. In that sense, I could imagine the boundary disappearing. I remember one day a traveler from around the world repeating these words on the air. “National borders will eventually disappear.” It's been a lot of experience during the trip that language barriers and traffic barriers are fading. I think so if you think about it. Even small items are well made and used by people all over the world.

You can make friendships with foreigners you meet, find out the news from all over the world, and even if you do not want to hear any news, many people are saying that it is impossible. There are two kinds of co-existence that seem to be difficult to mix in the market. Older Koreans who do not live in Seoul and young immigrants trying to open up their lives away from home. Their search for harmony in one space seemed to me like a very important and beautiful homework. If the moment that I scored the homework came up with satisfactory scores, I would be disappointed that I did not become part of them.

Balan hurray

A. 7 Pyeong 2-gil, Hyangnam-eup, Hwaseong-si, Gyeonggi-doH. bamk.co.kr


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #693.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and upvoted by @Blocktrades. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sunikr
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-go-travel-balan-hoo-market-a-calm-festival-held-every-5-days


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @rem-steem on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @wanderein and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Thanks for posting through TravelFeed.io! You have received a larger upvote from us. We hope to see you soon on TravelFeed.io!
Posting through TravelFeed.io also makes your post eligible to participate in the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi where you can earn up to 100 STEEM! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we presented at SteemFest⁴, published our Android app and launched our Steem witness.

Please consider voting for us as a witness. If you're not sure how to do that, it's easy: Head over to our Support Us page and hit the witness voting button to vote with Steem Keychain, or Steemconnect if you are not a Keychain user. Alternatively, use this Steemconnect link or head over to the Steemit Wallet and enter travelfeed in the box.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

This user is known for plagiarism, specifically translating Korean blogs and posting them as own content.

will it be that you can leave me alone please

Congratulations @sunikr! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73