You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vegemite: Weapon of mass destruction or innocent spread

That sucks! You were so looking forward to give it to your brother so he doesn't lose his Australian-ness. I hope you're able to mail some to him soon. That's strange that you got it all the way there... except the last little leg of the journey. Sorry, man!

Sort:  

Yeah, I made a little joke-post about it but to be honest I was pretty mad. My wife reckons I looked like I was going to jump the counter and go all spider-monkey on the guy. As it was they called a second guy over to deal with me so I must have looked annoyed enough to make them feel he needed backup. Still, getting taken away and cavity searched isn’t my idea of fun so I backed off to avoid a diplomatic incident. :)

I’ll get some spread of the gods (Vegemite) to him by mail when I get home.

Good for you for avoiding getting arrested and shipped back to Australia in a crate. I don't actually know what they do to you if you act out for them stealing confiscating your food. They probably don't put your food in the crate with you though. :(

Haha, yep I think the crate would be devoid of food and it’s a long way back to Aus!

After seeing your little niece, are you thinking of moving to Finland? Or at least somewhere a little closer to them? How about trying to convince that brother of yours to move back to the Land Down Under? I hear they have Vegemite there. ;)

Hmm, a good question my man. I’d love to be closer to my family of course but the language barrier here, the cofactors my dad is in a nursing home in Adelaide and that my wife’s business is there too sort of precludes it. As for my brother moving back...I don’t think it’ll happen, not anytime soon anyway. His wife hasn’t been there so I guess she’d want to check it out first. Never say never though I guess. It’s a big move for either though really, us here or them to Australia. I’ve thought about it though. I also have another brother back in Australia (about 4,000km Waldron where I live) whose wife is giving birth in August. We’re pretty spread out so it’s difficult to know where to be I guess.

Hopefully the question wasn't too much of an intrusion. I don't want to pry. You have thought it out well. It makes sense that you're close to your dad. I would be too. And I hadn't even thought about the language barrier. I talk with so many people from so many places that sometimes it's easy to forget that not everyone speaks English.

I'd be curious to hear the story of how your family got so spread out. Again, don't want to pry though.

Good for you for making the effort to stay in touch. It's so easy nowadays to lose touch, and family is one of the main things that we should hold onto.

Wasn’t prying at all mate, I only speak English and so coming to Finland to live won’t work so well. Speaking the language is probably going to become less of an issue as time goes by as most of the younger generation speak English here but to do what I do speaking the language would be necessary.

We just got spread out as time went by as work and relationships tended to take each of us in different directions. I am the only one who stayed in Adelaide where we were all born.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78