You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visiting the childhood home of Hans Christian Andersen and buying a copy of "Billedbog Uden Billeder" written in Danish

in #travelfeed5 years ago

So much history and culture packed in here! I find it interesting to consider an authors works in relation to their lifestyle and the hardships which they might have endured. my mom has an antique dresser similar to the one seen in the little kitchen; I've always loved the simplicity of the style.

Sort:  

I sometimes think it would be easier to write in an environment like this one. There were distractions, of course (like basic survival) but your mind could be wide open to creative ideas. That being said... Andersen probably didn't write here; he left this house when he was 14. I know he wrote while living in Copenhagen and Helsingør (which was Shakespeare's "Elsinore"), and that he was a writer in residence at Bronholm castle which is south of his hometown of Odense. But even so, I wonder... is a tiny hovel or a castle a better writing environment? I kinda think I could write some awesome fantasy hanging out in Bronholm castle! Anyway, I'm going to do a post on Broholm... someday. Hopefully before the month's out.

oh! that sounds lovely :) I think culture itself is a distraction. I wonder how many parties and social obligations there were in Bronholm castle? and how much of life was taken up in daily chores? for all of my present day seclusion in my tiny (stdio apartment) hovel, i dont ever seem to get much done, and that is no ones fault but my own for not having better discipline.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78