WanderList #1: Why you should visit Seoul

in #travelfeed โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemians! ๐Ÿ‘‹

If you have been reading my past blog entries, you will notice that I like doing lists. โœ”๐Ÿ—’

That's how I organize my thoughts and the things I need to do. So I decided I will just start a series with the name:

WanderList .

For the first entry of the WanderList series, I'll enumerate a few reasons why you should visit Seoul.

South Korea tops the list of my most frequently visited country. Oh! I think it is tied with Malaysia, but I go to Kuala Lumpur mainly because my brother works there (maybe I'll write about KL some other time).

So why do I keep coming back to Seoul? It brims with character and offers cultural and authentic culinary experience without the need to go too far from the city.


Let me tell you the pleasant experiences I had which makes me want to keep visiting this lovely city! Maybe you'll want to go there too after going through my list. Here we go:

1. It's okay to get lost.

South Korea has a very efficient transport system. Too advanced sometimes for a Third World resident like me ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. It took some time before I figured out how the train works and what to do when you don't know if you're going the right way because your Google maps show the name of places in Korean.

Let me tell you, don't be afraid to ask for directions when you're lost. The Koreans would try their best to help you. I'm speaking from personal experience. If they can't speak English very well, again based on my previous experience, they would take you to the place you're pointing to on your map (even better, right?!). They do go out of their way to help tourists. This certainly makes you feel welcome in a foreign place.

2. They give freebies!

Who doesn't want receiving free stuff? Would you not smile if you buy a moisturizer and get lots of other beauty items like masks or cotton pads for free? It's fun to shop in Seoul and their perfectionist mentality when it comes to service makes for a pleasurable shopping experience. Best of all, tipping is not required.

3. The food is superb!

I โค Korean food and while we have plenty of Korean restaurants here, nothing beats eating all your favorites in the place where they originated! Plus there are new food discoveries everytime!

Their barbeque is delicious! ๐Ÿด Galbi or marinated barbeque ribs are probably the most popular among tourists.

Another well known Korean food is the Bibimbap which literally means mixed rice. It is a filling option for rice-eaters like us Filipinos.

They also have good coffee and yummy desserts! Some are even too cute to eat. ๐Ÿ˜Š

4. You can go to where your favorite KDrama scenes were shot ๐Ÿ˜

The fangirl in you will die of excitement. Your whole visit could actually revolve around your KDrama favorites! You just need to do research beforehand.

This one was taken at the mural shown in the recent KDrama of Lee Jong Suk and Suzy Bae, While You Were Sleeping

This one was at Eun Tak's (Kim Go Eun) school in the famous Kdrama, Goblin.

The Namsan Seoul Tower is also a famous shooting location for KDramas. One of which was Boys Over Flowers.

Seoul is every fangirl's dreamland! โค

5. There's so much to do, even at night!

You can watch the Banpo Bridge Rainbow Fountain, which made it to the Guinness World Records for being the longest bridge fountain, and marvel at the dancing waters. You can check more details about it here.

For your last minute shopping, you can go to Myeongdong or Hongdae where the shops are open until late at night.

You can have your midnight snacks at food stalls scattered all over the city. But beware! You may want to skip this if you are on a strict diet since the food here are usually fried, mostly spicy, and filled with carbs!

You may also spend the night at a Jjimjilbang or a public bathhouse which is usually open 24 hours a day.

Of course, there are bars for those who like to party until the wee hours of the morning. I feel like I'm too old for this though so I just drink soju at the food stalls like the locals do. No dressing up needed! ๐Ÿ‘

If you are a night owl, you will definitely survive here!

6. The old coexists with the new.

It is amazing how they were able to preserve their historical places and treasures while at the same time being a modernized city.

7. They have four seasons โ„๐ŸŒธโ˜‰๐Ÿ

If you want to see cherry blossoms and tulips, South Korea has them both during Spring. Time your visit to ensure the flowers are in full bloom.

If you want to experience snow, you can come here during winter.

But my favorite season to visit is Autumn when the weather is not so cold yet and the trees turn yellow, orange and/or red.

image

I have never gone to Seoul during summer. Maybe I'll try that next time and see their beaches.


I hope you had fun reading this post and found useful infomation for your trip to Seoul.

Until next time!


xoxo ๐Ÿ˜˜,
@wander-full

Sort: ย 

I really had fun by reading your post it's so beautiful how you present your list's thanks for the information about Seoul and I think you really had a blast day. Keep us entertaining @wander-full thanks again

Hi @alomgirkabir! Thanks for your kind comment. Glad you enjoyed this list. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Waaah @wander-full, bring me (and my parents haha) with you when you go back!๐Ÿ˜…
You know that this has been on my list for the longest time already and my heart was racing in excitement as I was reading your blog!๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Can't wait to cross this out on my list (and try to find Joong Ki!๐Ÿ˜‚)

Haha. Let's go. Tuparin ang pangarap na yan. ๐Ÿ˜

Let's go!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you @travelfeed!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Congratulations @wander-full, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 6

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with a follow and an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Thank you, thank you, dear @asapers! ๐Ÿค—

great post! will keep an eye out for you travel work.
love the work you put in, keep it up.
I traveled for four yeas and post about it now!

hi @heyitshaas! Thank you for your kind comment. I appreciate it a lot. ๐Ÿ˜Š Followed you and will check out your travel posts.

Great post! I want to visit for that ice cream cone alone. It's so adorable! I've heard that spa treatments in Seoul are very inexpensive. Have you tried any?

Hi @msvee! That ice cream was actually really good. I wanted to eat one more but it's quite pricey. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

I have tried the spa and yes, they are not very expensive. I tried it during winter and went to the hot pools outside! A cool experience, I'd say. ๐Ÿ˜

This post is GREEEEEAT!!!! and right now i'm so hungry for Korean BBQ- oh my stomach is growling! hehehehe

I can taste the sweet salty sauce in my mind right now! hehehe and bibimbap is my hubby's favorite!

One of the things that always makes me nervous about traveling to places is getting lost in a foreign country! And the fact that they are so helpful is making me seriously want to go there!!!! (I'm always looking for new places to try!!!)

thank you for the great pictures and explanations of everything!!! :)

hi @dreemsteem! Me too, I can't seem to get over my korean bbq addiction! They are just so delicious! You should definitely go and visit Seoul! It's a wonderful city!! You will have a great time for sure.

Thanks for dropping by! ๐Ÿ˜Š

I am going to tell my hubby about it tonight! hehehehe we LOOOOOOVE korean bbq.

but here in the states - they use soy sauce that has wheat.... maybe there they will use NO WHEAT soy sauce and i can eat it until i'm FULL on it hehehehehe

I'm probably getting very excited because we're going on vacation in 9 days hahahaha and so vacation is on my mind. But maybe in 2 years we can make this our NEXT destination. My hubby would be so happy!

Are you allergic to wheat? I just dip my bbq wrapped in lettuce in some sesame oil with salt and then have some kimchi with it. Now i'm hungry!! ๐Ÿ˜‚

I will be on vacation in 10 days too! Hooray for us!!! Will wait for you post about your vacation. I hope there is wifi in my hotel so I can also post while I'm there.

I can probably do that!!!!!! Or I guess I can even bring my soy sauce that doesn't have wheat hahaha but the banchan is so delicious And that's always made with their own soy sauce ๐Ÿ˜”
I make my own kimchi (I used maangchi's recipe) and it's AMAAAAAZING!!

And yes I dont think we will buy the internet package for the cruise ship... But I will have to schedule some posts ahead of time hehehehe
The one good thing... My voting power will be back to 100%!!!! Hehehhee

Yes! Safer to bring your own soy sauce and wow, you can make your own kimchi?? Awesome!

So you are going on a cruise? I've never been on one. Tell us how it goes! Enjoy your vacation!

I will!!! It's my 5th. I love cruises cuz it's like 3 vacations in one hehhee

And I can only make kimchi because Maangchi is awesome! (I'll send you the recipe. It's so easy and delicious hehehe)

And you enjoy your vacation too!!! :)

Okay, please share the recipe. I will try to make kimchi !

As a South African now living in Brazil, I could relate to soooo much! Salvador the city I live in, is also very tourist friendly (although not as good to get lost in! It can be dangerous is certain areas). People are just as willing to go out of there way to help you here.

Tipping is not required here either, and the variety of types of food is amazing (A LOT of sushi places especially - its a craze here).

And about desserts - I was blown away by how many different flavours of ice-cream they have here that I had never heard of. Especially fruit flavours (and thus fruit!). Have you ever heard of Caja, Umbu, Jabuticaba, Acerola or Graviola? These are all fruit, I promise, lol.

And yes, here, the old exists with the new, very much. The city is 500 years old. One of the first towns established when they discovered South America...

One thing completely different, for sure, is the weather. Here, there is only one: HOT. Hehehe... Well, with a small variation in June/July called "slightly less hot with some rain" ;P

But I envy you your travelling experience! I've only ever been between here and my home city of Cape Town. Would love to travel more!

@mandelsage

Hi @mandelsage! Now I'm seriously considering going to Brazil because of what you said. Filipinos can visit there visa-free. And I would like to see Cape Town too! I saw a video where there are penguins on the beach, just roaming free. I've never been to both South Africa and South America but they're both on my list. ๐Ÿ˜

Grrr.. Rub it in, will you? ;P .. Yeess, definitely go to Cape Town. I miss my city sooo much. Definitely one of the best things about South Africa. The beach you're talking about it Boulder's Beach. I went there with my wife (then fiancรฉ) on a visit 3 years ago. It's wonderful but watch out... Both the penguins and the cold water bite ;P

Hahaha. Thanks for the warning! Will have to start saving up then so I can go! Regards to your wife. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Its a cool city. Are you capturing any of the Olympics ?

Thank you @intrepidphotos! I am based in the Philippines and was not able to visit in time for the Winter Olympics. That would have been awesome though!

Love those desserts they look amazing.

Great photos as well welcome to the @asapers

Thanks @shai-hulud for your support and warm welcome ๐Ÿ˜. Really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73