WanderList #4.2: The Great Ocean Road_Day 2

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Hi dear Steemians! 😁

I'm thrilled as I just learned that a local budget airline, Cebu Pacific, now flies to Melbourne! How timely, right?! I just wrote about The Great Ocean Road yesterday. Now it's easier (and most probably cheaper) to fly to Victoria, Australia. Yay!

So let me continue with part two of our epic roadtrip!


We woke up at around 7AM. It was so hard to get up as my bed was really comfortable and it was cold outside. But the thought of seeing the dramatic cliffs and the vast ocean was more than enough motivation to get up.

We prepared breakfast and we were on our way a few minutes before 9AM.


London Arch

This used to be called the London Bridge as it did once look like a bridge. After the arch connecting the other arch to the mainland fell down (cue music:♩ London Bridge is falling down, falling down, falling down ♩), it was aptly named as the London Arch.

There are three lookouts in this part of the Port Campbell National Park. There are pathways you can walk on going to the main view deck which has timber floors and railing. It was drizzling when we went there so we had to run to the viewing deck, stare at the beauty before us for a few minutes, take some photos, and run back to the car.

We no longer went to the other lookout points as the rain was getting stronger and we didn't have umbrellas. We hurried back to the car and drove to our next destination. Weather is quite unpredictable in this part of Victoria.


The Grotto

Our next stop was The Grotto. Walking on the boardwalk was a nice experience in itself. The rain has stopped and the cool walk in the middle of lush greens leading to the viewdeck was enjoyable.

After the relaxing walk, you will be greeted by such amazing view of the rock formation. This feature was formed through erosion from both sides--the coast and inland.

For those who want a closer look, there's a stairway you can use. Look at my friend all giddy with excitement!

And who wouldn't be happy with a view like this?

We headed back to the car after my friend gave me a crash course on Geology. Haha. She has PhD on Geology so that explains her love for rocks. 😁


Loch Ard Gorge

This place is a favorite of many because of its interesting history. There was a ship from England that wrecked here in 1878. 🛳

Out of the 54 passengers, only two survived.

The two unconnected stone pillars in the gorge were named after these two teenagers who survived the shipwreck, Tom 👦 and Eva 👩.

It is a picturesque place and we would have stayed longer if not for the erratic weather. Just look at that beach!

See the main road at the upper left side of the photo below?

Can you now imagine how spectacular this roadtrip was?! It's endless views of orange cliffs and beaches 🏝, greens 🌳 and blues 🏞!


Twelve Apostles

We saved the best for last! I've only read about this place in travel magazines and I was really looking forward to seeing it in real life.

The place was originally called the Sow and Piglets. The Sow was the island near Loch Ard Gorge and the limestone pillars along the coast including what is now known as the 12 Apostles as the Piglets.

It's said that there were only eight or nine rock stacks when it was named 12 Apostles (yup, not 12) and now there's one less rock pillar as it has succumbed to the sea. So come and tick this off your WanderList as soon as you can as it is forecasted to reduce even further due to erosion.

This site is gorgeous but it can be quite touristy so maybe next time, I'd come here earlier to catch the sunrise.


We took the highway on our drive back to Melbourne. That was rougly 210 kilometers which took a little over three hours. We were back at my friend's house before sunset.

It was definitely a trip to remember and I'd be more than willing to do it again. The landscape in the area is ever changing, due to the wind and wave erosion. It definitely won't look the same when I go back a few years later.

🗒 Note to self: Bring a binocular next time. Imagine the hundreds of colorful birds that must be living in the lush foliage of the Great Ocean Road.

So there you have it! I hope you enjoyed this roadtrip with me! Now that I'm done writing, let me look for a seat sale to Melbourne! 'Til next time!

xoxo 😘, @wander-full

P.S. You can read Part One of my epic roadtrip here.

You may also want to check out the earlier issues of this series:
WanderList #1: Why you should visit Seoul
WanderList #2: Siargao for Non-Surfers
WanderList #3: Weekend in Taipei

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Awesome pics. They give a real sense of the place. I had no idea the 12 Apostles used to be called Sow and Piglets. I love that 🤗

I've heard it is packed with people. I reckon when I go I'll aim for a sunrise too.

Thanks @onethousandwords! Yes, go at sunrise when there's less people. I bet view is spectacular too at that time of the day. I wanna go back before the ocean eats all the apostles away! 😊

I know right? There's a time limit on seeing this one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73