My climbing Mount Vesuvius. Part #2

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Hello, friends!

It is a continuation of yesterday's story about special day of my Italian vacations - visiting Vesuvio and Pompei.
My climbing Mount Vesuvius. Part #1


IMGP2662.jpg

The top appeared unexcpectedly as I thought I'll be more tired :) There are a lot of equipment like sensors here and there on the edges of the crater and inside. Everything looks libe being under control, but you know, the steam and the cracking sound of hot stones in morning silence is bracing.

IMGP2588.jpg

IMGP2647.jpg

IMGP2621.jpg


In my preparation I thought - what color is volcano stone? Is it black? It turned out that it is mostly red. Or... in consideration od amount of souvenirs... black is almost over :)

We went on around the crater. The trail is boarded up and gets more narrow. There are no shops but there are benches you can rest or just overlook the landscape, listen to the wind and think about beauty of nature ...


IMGP2661.jpg

IMGP2666.jpg


The trail doesn't make a circle. From the end point of the trail you can see Pompei - the encient Roman city that was destroyed by the volcano. It was our second destination for that day. By that time, I didn't suspect that the equally strong impression is waiting for me there.

IMGP2640.jpg

IMGP2660.jpg


Well, Pompei is waiting. And we went back. It was surprisingly to meet a noisy crowd just round the corner, they all walked up towards us. Going back we could see snow-capped tops of another far mountains and probably our new destination...

IMGP2683.jpg


One more subject of my concern before the trip was about what is the weather conditions there. Here in Ukraine, Carpathians make me learn one important lesson: in mountains, you have to be prepared to everything. So, I worried about wind and snow. Isn't it a winter? But the only frozen water I've seen looked like this:

IMGP2701.jpg


When we reached the point where we could see the parking, I could believe my eyes - it was all full! Endeed, the early bird catches the worm.

As we drove down the serpantine we gave a firewell look to the unforgettable views and took the road east!

IMGP2709.jpg

~~~~~~~~~ End of Part 2 ~~~~~~~~~

My equipment

All photographs were taken using Pentax K-5, lenses Pentax DA 55-300, DA 40mm, DA 12-24.

The season

It was January 22th, 2018. Concerning the weather conditions - as you can see, luck was on our side, Actually, there was no need even for a knit cap.

Thank you

For your time to read this post, your upvotes and comments. And resteem is always a pleasant bonus.
I hope you enjoyed it!

Until next part,
@zirochka

Sort:  

NICE POST PLZ UPVOTE AND LIKE MY POST I WILL LIKE YOUR POST DAILY

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Очень красивое место. Благодаря Вашим замечательным фото и я немного рщутил себья там. Удачи Вам и любви.

Спасибо! Я старалась :)

I would love to visit the italian volcanoes. The pictures already look great, but it must be breathtaking in person.

Are you going to visit Mount Etna as well?

Oh yes, I hope one day. Actually, I planned to visit also Ischia and its volcano, which is much closer to Vesuvio, but in January Ferry's schedule very much depends on the weather, so we didn't try. Now it is still on the list :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64