Camping on a shipwreck beach in Southern Greece

in #travelling6 years ago (edited)

Hey there steemit!

I have been trying to create a post to introduce myself for a while, but as I'm currently travelling around hitchhiking and camping, I haven't really found the time to get about this. Nevertheless, I want to start sharing with you some of my experiences, and hopefully the proper introduction will come soon :)

In brief though, my name is Darren, and I'm from a tiny island country in the Mediterranean called Malta. For the last six months I've been travelling around Europe, the last four of which have been by hitchhiking, and since spring started, camping too. I'm currently travelling around in Greece.

On the way from Stoupa, in the Mani peninsula, to Monemvasia, I was picked up by a lovely German couple who dropped me off in Gythio. After having lunch there, which is not a bad place either, I tried hitching out again, and incredibly got picked up by the same couple, having decided to visit a shipwreck beach instead of going back whence they came from. Obviously, I decided to join them, and after weighing up the onset of the evening and the natural beauty of the place, camping there was a no-brainer.

DSCF7503-Pano-Edit-web.jpg

This photo is composed firstly of six individual portrait photos with an exposure of 15s at f/2.8 and ISO6400 at 18mm. The set-up I'm using is Fujifilm's X-T1 with the XF18-55mm lens. I edited this panorama twice, first obtaining the correct exposure for the stars, and secondly for the foreground. Finally, I took another shot at 6.5s, f/2.8 and ISO200 to preserve the details on the tent.

Spending an hour by the fire looking up at the stars was simply magical, before the almost-full moon rose to illuminate the whole beach in near-daylight, and obscure all but the very brightest of stars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73