Lost in the midnight at Venice

in #travelling7 years ago

It was around 7 o'clock in the evening and we were supposed to leave Padova the same day. The train to Venice takes no more than half an hour. My mom was drinking a coffee at Caffe Pedrocchi, a historic café founded in the 18th century, on feet, because sitting costs 15 euros more. So, you can imagine how fancy it is. Staying there I realized there's one thing in which I do seem to the italians: bad temper. Since 5 o'clock I was worrying about the time and reminding my mom we must return to the hotel to take the luggage and then take the bus to the train station. She just completely ignored me. I was mad.
Sky turned dark and finally we went back to the hotel, and while we were taking the luggage it started raining. The [freaking] bus took 15 minutes to arrive. We got close to the train station and the rain was a bit stronger.
When we set out to do the line to buy the tickets, there were missing 7 minutes to the last train's departure and we didn't know where the hell we had to take it because it was at the other end of the terminal. My mom stopped to ask a man and I went crazy. The man was even more lost than us, so I started crying and running and the bags were insanely heavy and wet. I went downstairs and almost fall, and don't know how but I got to the train. My mother and sister yelling behind, they made it too. Finally. I remember, I was so stressed out that I couldn't even cry. I was like 😐, shocked. And then my mom "oh let me take a picture. Smile" she was like nothing just happened. I saw through the window, seeing how the rain washed the city, and how it drowned my worries.
Finally we landed in Venice, and then we didn't understand anything. It was raining stronger and there was a bunch of people. But c'mon, we were in Venice. We had to take a tronchetto (which is a bus on the sea) and go to another station that was near the hotel. Next to me in the tronchetto there was an italian couple drugged. They were nuts and driving me nuts. Then we landed to Rialto station, and the rain had no plans to stop. It was almost 10, and we started walking around looking for the hotel. At some point I realized we got lost. "Mom, are you sure this is the way?" "Calm down, trust God. Breathe" I didn't even want to cry, I just wanted to sleep. I was exhausted, I lost optimism and started thinking stupid things such as "we are not coming back to Venezuela. We are going to be adopted by an old venetian woman and we will work for her pizzeria" my mom looked at me again and told me "breathe" that word was like a mantra, because after that, we found an opened store and my mom asked for our hotel and the guy said it was at the end of the street. I didn't know if we should believe him because we were walking in circles for almost an hour. But then, we went there and it was like getting out of the tunnel, wow, I swear I saw God, we had the hotel right in front of us. Hallelujah. My mom made the check-in and blablabla, I ran out to the room and laid down. My sister wanted to eat so my mom and she went out to see what they could find. I stayed, and cried, thinking about all the stress I had during the day, and finally fell asleep. Good news are that next day the city made me forget all the worries I had the night before. Venice is amazing, but if you are going, don't forget to take your map or gps with you.
IMG_1005.JPG
Source: My computer! Took by me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69420.53
ETH 3671.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23