Your Driving and Safety

in #travelling5 years ago (edited)

"PG please do not read under age 18". Be careful when driving fellow Steemians and Humans and take it from an old Pro. When I was a kid riding in the family car we were told to sit in the back seat because it was safer, What's a seat belt? How do we Stop if the brakes are antilock? Must be something to do with the parking brake! Hmmm they still recommend your child face the rear of the car in a weight rated, National Safety Council approved infant seat. You may think I am jealous, on the contrary we use to talk my parents into folding the seat up in the station wagon and roll to the back when we accelerated, then rolling towards the front at stop signs, all 3 of us kids, what a rush. I think that little brother being 2 or 3 years old was the only one the sustained any minor bruises. The safety aspect of this is that we could only do this in town and rural streets, we had to fold the seat down when we were going on the highway cause we would go over 30 mph (50km/h) and sit in it, boring. Maybe I should not share much more the DOT may press charges on me to the day. It Is just phenomenal that I see accidents and people injured these days with antilock brakes,6 or 8 airbags, traction control systems, warning sensors and the list goes on. but then we will all be safe and sound when A.I. and autonomous vehicles are driving for us. Hmmm do Planes not crash anymore I did not get that memo. My simple point is please take your own safety in hand, be courteous, serious and pay close attention of all vehicles near you, at every second of your trip. And stay back especially from me when I am on my old hawg. I have been knocked down riding a motorcycle before by a car that did not even stop, acknowledge hitting me, just kept on his merry way picking his nose and have a good ole day. I was fortunate that it only cost a few buck and a couple of band aids to fix the damage. My grand finally of lessons shared is that this old steemian has just slightly over 2.0 million miles (3.2 million kilometers) on my butt usually in larger vehicles, adverse road and whether conditions. I still see accident and have had my share of mishaps to educate myself with humility and luck being that no body has been physically injured. Do Not depend on the vehicle for your safety and the general driving publics. you must be responsible for yourself, passengers, pedestrians and all motorist you encounter while driving because the vehicle would not be there if you were not operating it. I may continue these tip and pleas for later please slow down, back off a bit, be courteous, patient and you will be producing a safe drive.

P.S. this is rated "Parental Guidance" they shouldn't know what I did when I was there age.

Sort:  

With so many more vehicles on the roads these days too, accidents are more likely of you don't pay attention. Often the worst offenders for careless driving are the ones in the bigger vehicles. They probably feel invulnerable, so they don't care if they risk others. They usually meet their match when they mess with trucks...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes even my fellow truck drivers are dwindling in there courtesy and common sense skills. It is starting to feeling like a "smash & pass" demolition derby between trucks on our highways. I can't imagine what highways are like in Europe and the US ( they where bad enough in the states when I was truckin there 10 & 15 years ago).

Congratulations @hawgwild! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55