ADSactly travels - The Best Way to Explore an Off-beat Destination, Málaga, Spain

in #travels6 years ago

The Best Way to Explore an Off-beat Destination, Málaga, Spain

There must be a thousand questions floating all around your head, asking why Málaga? We've all heard many

popular travel spots in Spain like Barcelona, Majorca and Seville for vacation. Why is it not one of them?

While the crowds are boasting around the innumerable fine white beaches and crystal clear water, chasing after the

bewitching charms of the de rigueur shopping districts and the happening nightlife. Málaga came to the exact

opposite, being away from those crowds.

With all our hope of escaping to somewhere contrary the swarming city of London, we stumbled upon this underrated

city of Málaga and it is also one of the "best decision" we ever made!

To know exactly why Málaga is going to be on your travel list? This is what you need to know about Málaga.

Despite the fact that Málaga is being referred to be an airport hub for many years, the vibrant city, unique and rich

cultures, also the top-notched food being served all across Málaga will atonish you.

Also, if you haven’t already come across Málaga, it’s located right on the southern coast of Spain. Besides the

beautiful landscape, the people of Málaga offer their unique hospitality with the brightest smiles on their faces to

everyone who visits the country.

First, I am going to bring you to the historic market place, called the “Mercado de Atarazanas", which is possibly the

one and only remaining part of the Old Moorish shipyard. The market hall is well decorated with the remaining

horseshoe-shaped Islamic gateway that dates to the 14th century and instantly lifts the space with remarkable ancient

histories.

To me, the best way to travel and to know more about the culture always starts with food! Knowing the source of your

food, getting connected with the locals, exploring the unknowns are simply the best part of traveling. If you ever speak

about this market, everyone will strongly suggest you come early because good things run out quicker than you could

ever imagine.

I couldn't believe what I saw upon stepping into the market!

Look at all those beautifully stacked fresh fruits and vegetables. I have never ever been to a market where all the

vendors are actually making an incredible effort to care for all their lovely products. Just when I thought it was just a

personal habit of one particular vendor to stack things up nicely, I was shocked to see it happen literally in every

single stall in the market. I was absolutely speechless and all I had in mind was how much I was already in love with

this market!!

To all of the perfectionists out there, this is definitely your heaven! Please take a moment to adore it. Isn’t that satisfying? The perfectly arranged figs and peaches are almost too pretty to be destroyed. I feel like I’m committing a crime if I ruin their natural beauty.

Just when you thought it couldn’t be better, look at those beautiful smiling faces all around the market.

There’s one thing I’ve learned in life, and that is that a person can definitely change his perception of the environment and his perspective of how a country is, based on the people living there. I can affirm that the people there are the friendliest, and the hospitality is stunning! You’ll feel exactly like you’re at home because they are the people that make you feel welcome, as if you’re part of the family.

People there don’t just sell products, they are also the buyers who bought your heart without you even knowing it. That laughter and those smiles along the marketplace are fascinating. No wonder people say, "Happiness is contagious."

Also, if you ever happen to be in Spain, get your money ready for the pickles and almonds!! That’s something that you never want to miss and go home empty handed. If you haven’t known already that almonds are essential and important to the gastronomy of Malaga and Andalusia, so is the salt. No one leaves Málaga without having their luggage stuffed with this nutty goodness.

And almonds lover should know that there are millions of flavours out there in the market—roasted or non-roasted, flavourings like black pepper, paprika, sugar coated, etc. But with all these choices, nothing beats the fresh and plum almonds that are salted perfectly! This leads to my point that the best and the most genuine way to taste Malaga is definitely the roasted version, "Alfarnate style." What makes those almonds so precious is that they are prepared with a precise and unique touch of salts that nothing can mess up. It’s no surprise that you’ll find small stalls selling them in “cartuchitos," small paper cones. You definitely won’t be able to resist it.

Look at those hanging goodness. I am no food expert or anything to claim any credibility, but I am confident about what I put in my mouth! I assure you with all my heart that these are some of the best cured hams that I ever had in my life. Look at the extensive choices of hams with different ages, qualities, flavors, and fat content. It’s just amazing!

I bet you will salivate just by thinking of it. But once you have it in your mouth and devour it, it’s a brand new level that brings you to another dimension which I call "Heaven."

The hanging "Jamon Iberico" instantly caught my attention and I had no choice but to pull out my wallet for it. I have absolutely no doubt that it was the best choice that I ever made. The indescribable deep and dark taste lingers in your mouth creating a convincing taste that you can never forget. Even though it’s not the cheapest, it is definitely worth every single cent. All I can think now is that I haven’t gotten more to snack on.

Never ever exit this market without having a seat at a tapas bar. Slow down the time by enjoying your perfect morning with some mouth-watering and authentic Spanish style cooking while enjoying the view of the busy market that is packed with action.

I would never have thought that the food at the market could be this exquisite, and way beyond my expectations. Often the local quaint shop is the hidden gem that needs to be explored to uncover its true authenticity and quality.

No one would ever leave Spain without trying tapas, and also without ordering all sorts of tapas on the menu. Knowing that everything on the menu sounds interesting, we sometimes tend to over-order. But thanks to the ingenious creation of “tapas,” now tasting everything on the menu can be that easy.

Next, we headed directly to “Castillo Gibralfaro” which is an Old Moorish Castle Fortress which was built in the ninth century. The ruins depict the remnants of Málaga’s Islamic past in its craggy ramparts. This is definitely a hotspot for tourists from all over the world, and we definitely couldn’t skip this castle due to its alluring charms. Also what tempted me the most was the panoramic scenic view of Málaga.

We ordered the signature anchovies, codfish cooked with Spanish style tomato base sauce, freshly caught octopus salad with assorted vegetables, and also the iconic seafood paella with noodles. Not to mention a glass of beer, because it’s never too early for a glass of beer!

The only reason I could think of as to why the food served was outstanding was because they used fresh ingredients every day. Nothing beats seafood that is freshly caught from the sea. The best part was it was extremely affordable at less than 25 euros!

Along the to hike up to the top, you’ll witness the ancient beauty. The aging cactuses, withered plants portrayed a picture of how time passes quicker than you even know it in real life, where the old go and give rise to newer generations.

The way to the castle was actually pretty exhausting due to the steep staircases and pathways. But there are seats along the way where you can actually rest and enjoy the view while you’re on the way up. Every stage rendered a unique view of Malaga which I found interesting and distinctive.

The castle was built with the purpose of being a lighthouse and also a military barracks. In the castle, there is a mini military museum which showcases a small scale model of the castle complex and also some ancient histories that you can find on the information board.

To be honest, there’s nothing much to see over there, but the highlight is definitely the spectacular view of Malaga. Especially when you finally make it to the top. You’ll be feeling like you’re on top of the world!

When I say that I’m feeling like I’m on top of the world, I really do mean it!

What I loved the most was the ambiance at the castle. It wasn’t overly crowded despite its fame. It is most probably because I went there early enough to beat the crowds. But the best spot in the whole castle was definitely the rooftop garden seat where you can seriously take a step back from life. Just enjoy the beautiful view with the constant breeze.

Just so you know that my day couldn’t be better than this. You’re absolutely wrong!

I considered myself to be not just lucky but to be extremely lucky to have found the best restaurant that serves the best tapas in the whole of Malaga. Also, possibly the best tapas that I ever had in my entire life.

I am a person that doesn’t really stick to the same old restaurant even though the food might be good, simply because I am an explorer, particularly when it comes to food. I love to explore different flavors and methods of cooking by tasting. Thus, to be able to capture my heart and soul to a place not once but twice in a row, that has to be something outstanding!

This was “El Tapeo de Cervantes,” which is located at the heart of Malaga. Serving the best quality food and top-notch service this quaint little local owned restaurant has everything that you ever need. Be sure to make your booking in advance if you’re planning to go there for a wonderful dining experience. Or, try out your luck just like us when we stumbled upon this restaurant while they just started their operations.

Let’s have the photos to do them justice!

They were beyond good, simply because the chef really poured his heart and soul into creating every dish with love! I absolutely loved it from the bottom of my heart.

However, please do not blame me for sharing these delicious dishes with you. Blame me if I did not share these with you. Because a photo speaks a thousand words and my words couldn’t express enough of how good it was. Hopefully, you’ll feel inspired to travel all the way to this place which I called heaven to experience and taste it yourself. I swear that it’s going to be extremely worth it!

Overall, I am more than sure that Málaga is the city you need to include on your travel list soon. There is more than you could ever imagine, even if it’s just a small and peaceful city.

Authored by: @explorernations

Sort:  

Congratulations @rjusman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @rjusman! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63