Days 9, 10, 11, and 12 - Water Festival Time

in #travelsteem6 years ago

Hello my Steemit friends. As you may have noticed from the title, today I am posting four days in one. I am not cheating, I swear.

I spent four amazing days taking part in Thingyan, the Burmese New Year Festival. I spent the first two days in Yangon and then travelled north to the city of Mandalay to experience the celebrations there.

During the four days of the festival, everywhere you go people are pouring water on each other. The idea is that the water washes away the sins from the past year and makes you clean for the new year that is about to start.

From the moment I left my hostel each morning, I was covered in water. Sometimes it was refreshing, other times it ice cold and made me scream.

But it was an experience I will never forget. So many happy people celebrating and dancing together. It was difficult to take a lot of pictures without my phone being destroyed from all of the water. But here are a few I managed to get!

DSCN19722.JPG

DSCN19723.JPG

DSCN5462.JPG

DSCN5474.JPG

DSCN19756.JPG

Thanks for stopping by!
Chantelle

Sort:  

What fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my gosh - yes - I would have been protecting my phone but desperate to get some shots too! hehehehe

Glad that you were able to grab some for us!!!! :)

That looks like a tremendous amount of fun. Water is so important, I imagine water celebrations which are a part of the culture have a dramatic value of water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72