Travel Tip: Sedlec Ossuary, one of the scariest places in the Czech Republic

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip series where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I will certainly please all horror fans since I will take you to one of the creepiest places of the country, the legendary Sedlec Ossuary.

pile-of-human-skulls-and-bones.jpg
Source: Public Domain Pictures (Creative Commons)

A part of the former Sedlec Abbey in Sedlec, a suburb of the beautiful historic town of Kutna Hora, the Sedlec Ossuary is a small chapel found beneath the local cemetery. The chapel itself is quite small but still big enough to contain skeletons of up to 70,000 people! The bones are arranged to create decoration of the ossuary, making it one of the spookiest but at the same most visited tourist attractions of the country.

15666170411_aacfee18f8_b.jpg
Source: Flickr (Creative Commons)

With its origin dating back to as early as the 13th century, the Sedlec Cemetery used to be a very popular place to be buried at because an abbot allegedly brought a jar of "Holy Soil" from Israel to the site in early medieval times.

Sedlec-Ossuary.jpg

Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Because of its unique spooky appearance and atmosphere, the Sedlec Ossuary has been featured in many movies and it even appeared in the iconic American franchise "Ripley´s Believe It or Not!"


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

National Theater in Prague celebrating 150th birthday!

Price of 20 SBD/60USD: 7 World's Continents photo challenge WEEKLY WINNER announcement #32!

ColorChallenge - Red Monday - @forenca in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Monday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Hi Tomas, how are you today. I would really love to visit your country to see beautiful place there, but maybe I would not visit to this scary place.. :)

Hi Thomas, How are you, After little few times I come your blog post today. Absolutely better guidance by you every time where's memorable place you want to visit and attractive. These decoration of the ossuary of very creative. I'm scary to look skulls. But this is amazing experience to everyone. This place had long history. Grateful assistance by you.

Yep, it sure is scary but it does play a big part of our heritage.

what!
sounds a very horrible place, but I would love to visit this place ;)
Because I love horrible things ;)
I just want to know all these skeletons and heads are of real human's?
This thing is scaring me a little :)

Yep, all the bones, skulls and skeletons are from our ancestors..... I know, pretty spooky.....

@czechglobalhosts with all due respect I want to ask you something?

My #voting power is not decreasing upon upvoting other's posts. is it happening to you also?

Wow amazing post.That is really scary place.But you know what you got a fan of horror.I loved horror movies.Loved the amazing design of skull and the architecture of the building.It is really amazing. 70,000 people skeletons is really big deal and that is really amazing that it can contains.I will visit it when i visit Czech Republic.Add to my visit list.Thanks for sharing it with us.@czechglobalhosts

Glad to hear you like the place. I was pretty impressed when I was there even though I hate horror movies:)... Whenever there is one on TV I change the channel ASAP:)

@czechglobalhosts This looks quite creepy but interesting all at the same time... Definitely visit it whenever I go to Czech Republic thanks for another great tip!!:)

It sure is worth it and very easy to reach out of Prague. A perfect place for a day trip.....

Oh my god,I got goosebumps..it’s definitely scary but at the same time it’s really unique and attractive for the tourists..i was wondering is this place is haunted or not?😟

Not that I know of but I would not be surprised... There is probably loads going on people even don´t know about, like behinds the scenes kind of thing:).....

Sedlec Ossuary is such a scary place to visit.70,000 skeleton it's huge. even 1 skeleton is enough for me to afraid. Seeing skeleton in a movie is pretty different for viewing it live. May be i don't have courage to see them. Amazed to know that a lot of tourist get attracted toward this scariest place. May be people love adventure or they will get lesson after seeing the bones. Thanks for sharing @czechglobalhosts

I hate watching horror movies but seeing all those skeletons in person did not evoke any unpleasant emotions in me... But then we are all different.

Well said we are all different. May be you are brave hearted guy @czechglobalhosts

This reminds me of the Killing Fields in Phnom Penh. There they have also stacked all the skulls of the people murdered in the 80s.

Super creepy, but cool :)

It's exceptional.... thanks for letting us know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01