The time capsule

in #treasure6 years ago

The time capsule

Hi friends, I watched a movie yesterday, Predictions with Nicolas Cage, a nice movie, a little scary but I will not tell you more if you have not seen it yet ...
In this film, it is about a time capsule, I did not know that it existed, it's great as an idea I think! You know what it is ?
I love that kind of story, it makes me think of Benjamin Gates or Indiana Jones, it makes me think of a treasure hunt.

image.jpg

(Picture source)

A time capsule is a work of collective safeguarding of goods or information collected and kept as a testimony of time spent for future generations.

The time capsule is sometimes buried during ceremonies.
On the occasion of village festivals or graduation ceremonies, especially in American universities, people have fun putting objects or a message representative of their time in a box.

Then, the box or capsule is sealed and then buried in a place little frequented to prevent someone from finding it without doing it on purpose during work or renovation.

Steve Jobs himself created his time capsule in 1983. In 2013, we opened it and we found inside a Rubik's Cube, drinks cans, an Apple mouse and other objects he wanted to put in.

SteveJobsTimeCapsule_008_DiggersII.jpg

(Picture source)

steve_jobs_time_capsule_hd_2.jpg

(Picture source)

The time capsule is not recent, indeed, there was already time of the first human civilizations of Mesopotamia.

The time capsules are classified into 3 main groups:

• The intentional or programmed, we place objects of the present moment in a box or another container hoping that years later (10, 50, 100 or 1000 years for example), a new generation discovers it. Or, we place objects / drawings / crafts of our children and we open at their 30th birthday, ...

• The involuntary: as in Pompeii where the lava to freeze people and objects.

• Non-programmed: like some space probes.

(Text source)

(Text source)

Scotland

At a construction site, a time capsule was found that spent 121 years underground.
The capsule was buried under the foundations of a bridge. This capsule was brought to a museum for expert appraisal.
This capsule contained a bottle of whiskey and a newspaper clipping of the time on which was inscribed the date of September 29, 1894.

(Text source)

14304289.jpg

(Picture source)

cover-r4x3w1000-57e17b29292f9-une-capsule-temps-vielle-de-121-ans-retrouvee-en-ecosse.jpg

(Picture source)

Boston

In Boston, during a building restoration, we found in the head of a golden lion statue that was at the top of the Old State House, the former capitol, a capsule that had been hidden there since 113 years old.

It is a sculptor responsible for the restoration of statues that adorn this building that found this capsule.

Yet, in 1901, the year the capsule was closed, the Boston Globe had covered the story, detailing the contents of the box. Since then, however, she had fallen into oblivion.
The capsule contains photos, autographs, Boston politicians' letters, newspaper clippings and badges from the presidential campaigns of William McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt.

(Text source)

73abdf5cabd2d2ab.jpg

(Picture source)

media_xll_7207410.jpg

(Picture source)

Spotify

Spotify is a Swedish online music streaming service that allows you to listen to all kinds of music.

Spotify has also decided to create a time capsule in the form of a playlist, it includes pieces that you probably listened to during your youth.

This playlist called Time capsule is accessible to all users of this service.

(Text source)

spotify_timecapsule.jpg

(Picture source)
So ?

Did you know the time capsule? Have you ever created one? It makes me want to fill one and open it with my children in twenty years, it could be super nice o) I'll think about it ... The hardest is to decide what we will put in and where to place the capsule?

Sort:  

Congratulations @lndesta120282, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1426 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $10511.42. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I think the movies is called "Knowing", release in 2009

Yes ! You are right ;o) Do you saw it?

Yes I have actually a while ago, I might need to re watch it with a different perspective :)

I have heard about the concept of q time capsule, but I never knew there is so much interesting information about them. Did you eat about the Keo space capsule - it wasn't implemented yet. But it's real cool! Heres some info about it:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/KEO

i watch this contant . i think it is very nice contant .good sharing @lndesta120282 .can i resteem this post ?

Thank you ;o) Yes, of course you can do it !

ok dear ,thanks
now alredy done

Nice post, as always :) Thanks :]

Loved the concept.
I dint know people ever did this.
I read the whole biography of Steve jobs by Walter Isaacson, but nothing about this was mentioned.
Good to get some additional information about the man.
I will surely want to make a time capsule for my future generations.

It's a great movie. It was my biggest dream to be the greatest treasure hunter. By the way, I remember that if you didnt' watched indiana johns film you missed the big thing....

I support, the movie is chic, though not for all spectators. a very interesting selection of historical facts and thoughts .. I recently opened a temporary capsule with a message from people from the Soviet Union, it was something interesting. Thank you

Oh I love that movie! And I really liked the time capsule scene as well! :)(Even if it is kind of creepy hahaha)
I haven't made one myself yet, but I would love to! I guess I will do that! Even if it's just for myself. Like leaving a message for my future me :D
I guess it's a great way to remember old times :)

Wow, I never considered Pompeii's people as a time capsule, but they indeed are a very special kind of it! And I would feel like Indiana Jones if I found a time capsule like the one with the old piece of a newspaper inside! :D

yes me too I want to leave my message for my future me and for my children 😊

Aaaw what a great idea to make one for your children! It will be even more exciting thank searching easter eggs! :D It's like you can tell them: C'mon kids, let's go on an adventure and look for the time capsule! :D

Tşk ederiz bizleri aydınlatıgınız iöin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85