Recent Camping Photos for Treetuesday

in #treeteusday6 years ago (edited)

Some wild red huckleberries were growing all over the campsite where we stayed recently in the Cascade Mountains. I really like the taste of them, they are less sweet and more tart than a blueberry but are similar in taste.

You can see our camper in the background here. I’m very impressed with how well it has worked out so far and am really enjoying the camping.

I thought the camping photos might work out well for Tree Tuesday.

CampingBerries.jpg
Red huckleberries – click for viewing full screen

Here’s a view of a pedestrian bridge over the river near the campground. There are some dead trees on the mountain in the background. There has been many fires all over recently and lots of the younger trees were burned. The tops of many of the older trees were spared from the fire and there are still many forested areas left unburned.

The areas is very beautiful and new growth of mostly flowers and bushes is starting around where the fire has happened.

PedBridge.jpg
Pedestrian suspension bridge – click for viewing full screen

Here’s another old cedar tree that I like. There are many of them in the area. It looks like the fire has burned through an area leaving an opening on both sides so you can see through. I don’t remember this see through opening tree the last time I visited the area but it doesn't look like the tree was touched by the more recent fire.

HollowTree.jpg
Hollow see through cedar tree – click for viewing full screen

These moths/butterflies were hanging out on the bathroom wall – I’m not exactly sure of the differences between moths and butterflies. This bug is holding its wings like a butterfly but it has a very fuzzy body and antennas. I like the look of the antennas they remind me of a hair brush or something.

mothFuzzy.jpg
A fuzzy moth looking butterfly bug – click for viewing full screen

This moth looks like it would blend in really well on a paper birch tree. The patterns on the wings look like the tree bark.

moth.jpg
Moth with wings that look like paper birch bark – click for viewing full screen

I hope you enjoy the photos - I may post a few more of the camping trip it was really fun to be up in the mountains.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+ with modifications done in the digital darkroom on the first picture by Google Photos. Tree Tuesday was started by @old-guy-photos

Sort:  
Loading...

Yes I can see it from the photos you share, the red color of the fruit makes me want to taste it and maybe the sour taste will make my teeth stronger. I can feel that your camping is very satisfying and hopefully your next day is fun @lightsplasher.

Red is a nice color for fruit, I think it is nice to have a variety of color in your diet.

Yes, maybe what you say is true, fruits that taste sour can be beneficial for natural diet remedies.

very beautiful, i like it @lightsplasher

Capturing good photos, natural beauty presented some advantages and from your fruits managed to do it. the suspension bridge is also very beautiful and if I were in a beautiful place where you are while camping. restem let everyone see it and I like the way you do it.

You have made me think about how to enjoy nature with artwork in photography @lightsplasher

Thank you, I'm glad your thinking about how to enjoy nature with artwork and photography. I think it is fun to see what different ways that nature is shown through different artists and photographers work.

Me too ... I have really been enjoying the red huckleberries this summer. My son and I have picked a few pounds and enjoyed them fresh but also in muffins and cookies. Got some wild blueberries (bilberries) too. YUM.

I don't know the difference between moths and butterflies ... except that moths tend to muted colours and butterflies are more colourful ... moths tend to be nocturnal and butterflies diurnal. But you mentioned a wing folding difference as well. I think there might be some cross over. I think moth larvae can be more of a pest to humans with the tendency to eat clothing. Your moth however was really quite beautiful with its markings:)

Great post, LS:)

Wild fruit is really fun to harvest. There are so many varieties out there that taste just a bit different.

There are a lot of different insects to see when you are out camping. I like to go hiking and exploring and take pictures of things that interest me. I've been a bit more interested in identifying things recently because of posting the pictures here.

I know the feeling:)

blog is perfect, I am satisfied and happy to see your post is very interesting.

Thanks, mostly pictures and less words is easier for me at this time anyhow.

You are welcome.

You are really getting some good use out of that smartphone. I use mine more and more and will admit that the pictures come out much better than I thought they would.

So glad you are getting out with the camper. I love to surround myself with nature and family. A very nice combination in my opinion. I cannot believe the destruction that the fire has caused. How devastating. I have noticed however that berries flourish whenever there has been a fire. How odd, right? I especially notice that with blueberries in the wild.

Moths and Butterflies? A quick and easy for me: Moths are nocturnal and butterflies are usually Day Insects. There are other things, but, that is short and sweet.

I really enjoyed your post and hope to see more of your camping adventures!

Thank you! Yes, I am really enjoying the smartphone the camera is way better than the earlier models. I can do everything on my phone now so long as the battery holds out and connectivity is available.

It is very fun to be out in nature and the camper is working out really well.

very very good friend of mine, its fruit very similar to srobery fruit and very beautiful it looks its, and the view of the suspension bridge is very beautiful once i really liked nya.terimakasih have share my dear friend @lightsplasher

Thank you dear friend, I'm glad you liked the post.

yes both my dear friends @lightsplasher

hi my buddy, before i apologize because i am late today follow, your post because i am busy with work today, after i see your post very touch with premises of my view bud, i am very impressed with view of jembata and mountains which is very touching because of this beautiful scenery.

image

if I am in the course of course I would like to participate, because I really like this kind of viewing, but what we can make because we are very far, even different countries though, but, I see the scenery alone is very happy

Thank you, I enjoy seeing your pictures as well. It is nice to see pictures from different places and unfamiliar items.

Whether the butterflies came from inside the tree

I'm not sure, it would be fun to learn more about them. I wonder if the worms that turn into these butterflies may like to eat the leaves of the birch tree since the butterflies look so much like the tree bark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57