Celebrating with style

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

Traditions are changing all around the world. This one was at first meant just for the 50th birthday, but nowadays, its used for every "round" birthday.

DSCN0136.JPG

If you live in the rural area of Slovenia, (and you are not arguing with your neighbors) its a big chance they will prepare for you this special kind of statue. We call it "mlaj", and it comes in different shapes and sizes. But the main thing it has is a high spruce tree with some decorations. There also have to be a sign resembling a traffic sign, where the number is written on.

DSCN0134,.JPG

Usually, they also make a doll, which represent a person celebrating the birthday. You can see on the photo that they made a doll resembling the guy, who has dark hair and mustache, wearing a cap, loves gardening, and chilling in a rocking chair. During the years I saw many different ones. The most stayed in my mind one, where they put a middle sized tractor in the air (how they mounted it to the spruce I didn't saw well, because we drove by to quick) to show, that the person celebrating is a tractor lover.

DSCN0132.JPG

This kind of tradition is ment for men, but for women they make a flower made from wood or foam (also with number and decoration atached beside it). I wanted to show you the example, but I just can't find the photo today. You can check the following link to see what I had in mind.

Even though the tree seen in the photos is not growing anymore, I think it still qualifies for a Tree Tuesday. ;) In a way... :)

Photos for @old-guy-photos' contest were made by me, and my Camera NIKON COOLPIX P510.

Sort:  

I have never seen anything like that before. That is so cool. That is what I love about Steemit. I can learn so much about other cultures! Thanks for sharing this with us!!!

If I'm honest, I saw this kind of celebration first time about ten years ago. It's interesting to see how much the person is valued by the community, and what is the persons' character just by looking at the doll.

Haha. Nice one! That is nice Slovenian tradition. Thanks for sharing...

;) Your welcome.

What a brilliant tradition. I love it @emmamia!

It might not work too well in my neighbourhood though as there might be too many people with birthdays on the same day. Not sure . . .

This tradition is used just for round numbers. Like 20, 30, 40, 50,.. The only exception I saw the other day when they put up one with number 18 on it.

I think it works well in a rural area, but in cities, I'm not so sure. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94