Pretty Tree Tuesday

in #treetuesday5 years ago

One of my very favorite trees is the Mimosa Tree. I love it's fluffy pink tasselly blooms.

tasslefirstphoto.jpg

They start blooming around the first of June and continue to bloom halfway through July. I took this photo of one on the side of the road in an old shopping area.

bmoc tree.jpg

They usually grow to have a wide green canopy and when they bloom, there are so MANY pink flowers that it makes them look so beautiful. Not only that, they smell divine !

This one grows across the drive at my neighbors house.

neighbors tree .jpg

I really don't have great photos, but you can still tell they are beautiful. I've read that there is a different pink one and a white, but I have never seen either around here.

up the limb.jpg

Their leaves?.... look a bit like palm fronds. I love them too.

frond.jpg

At night, the little leaves fold up...... or in the day if you touch them.

closed frond.jpg

After the blooms drop, they will grow seed pods. I don't have a photo of them for now, but they look like long green flat beans, are usually about 6 inches long and hang in clusters. The beans eventually turn brown and pop open, scattering their tiny seeds into the wind

up the limb not as focused maybe.jpg

Love them !

There is another kind of Mimosa, it as drink. It is a light alcoholic drink and consists of equal parts champagne and traditionally orange juice, however, you could use a different juice if you wanted. They are light and bubbly and are good for celebrations...... like New Years morning.... where it is fun to serve with breakfast.

I made this post for #treetuesday hosted by @old-guy-photos.

Hope you are all doing well.

Love ya !

Jacey

so bloomin pretty !

Sort:  

Beautiful.) It is a pity that we do not grow such

I read one time that they originate in Asia and the Middle East and that back in the 1700s a man brought one to his botanic garden in South Carolina. The tree loved our eastern weather and now they are considered an invasive species. :) I like how they invaded.

Maybe they are growing in more southern regions.) But I haven’t personally met.)

I had one as a kid. It was so cool seeing it fold up. There is one right near where I am staying here in VA.

It is neat how the leaves react to touch..... and night time.

I think they have a somewhat tropical look.

They are so beautiful! It's easy to see why you love them!

It is funny to me when I read that something I have seen around here all my life is considered an invasive species. What ?? They are so different than a lot of the other trees. Visually at least, what is not to like ?

Isn't it funny? The things they call invasive that I think are lovely, I'm ok with. The nasty ones I will gladly help try to obliterate! The world is constantly changing. Who is to say that invasive is bad?

Yes... like kudzu that covers everything in sight once it gets started. I will probably butcher the story, but I thought I read someone brought it here on purpose as possibly a ground cover under power lines and the such that would not need to be mowed?? Anyway, it can smother a small forest easily once it gets started.

I read a story a few weeks back about a farmer that was maybe the third generation on his farm and he wasn't doing well with it. He really didn't want to be the one to lose it. His wife was telling it I think. She said he bought a few goats and she did not understand why. I don't think it told his original reason, but that may just be my memory...LOL.... however, eventually he turned the goats into a big business. Since you know goats like to eat everything in sight, they found the goats LOVED kudzu. They now have a business where for a price, they will come out to your property covered in kudzu, put up a temporary fence and put a group of goats in there. After a number of days, the goats will have eaten it all up. :)

Goats eat poison ivy, too. Go goats!! Someone around here was renting out their goats for poison ivy clean up. I suppose it would grow back and you would have the goats come visit again!

Unless it's too expensive, it would be much better than cleaning it out yourself. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72