Tree Roots and Rambling

in #treetuesday6 years ago

I've heard trees described as libraries of the world, that each leaf is like a book, and forests hold collective memories.

Ancestral memories.

When we harvest too many trees and don't leave enough of the old-growth elders, who is there to pass on the knowledge to the saplings? Is it kept in the seeds, or do their roots need to intertwine to unlock the codes.

When we, as humans, forget to root into this earth, we tend to forget her wisdom. May we remember.

Tree-Tuesday-Plantation-Oak.jpg

line-divider-clean.png

Go outside.
Breathe deep.
Listen to the wisdom of the trees.

line-divider-clean.png

I took this photo on a plantation in Louisiana. One of my favourite things about the South is the trees, especially these Live Oaks.

This will be yet another late-night entry for #treetuesday, started by @old-guy-photos. I tend to do mine when it's already Wednesday in most of the world, but I don't think the trees care.

Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

alliance banner
banner by @enginewitty

Sort:  

Beautiful. The colors look stunning.

Oh, I looove trees. There's something special about them, something bigger than us. You can feel it when you hug them. I find tree-hugging has a grounding and calming effect on me. It makes you feel more one with nature and the environment. I went for a walk after work today and took some lovely photos of trees. Was meaning to post them sometime, and now that I know there is such a thing as #treetuesday, it will probably be next Tuesday, haha. Thanks for promoting appreciation for trees. They're magnificent and we need to cherish them.

exactly! people forget the wisdom of the sages and elders and yet it's the wise older trees that are the most beautiful it seems.....

I d remember reading that about trees and you make a good point that they should be a sign for us to stay rooted

Without the nature I couldn't exist. Very interesting post :) Greetings my nature lover

That is a grand old tree, especially with the moss on them.

You were in my neck of the woods @katrina-ariel!! The oak trees are beautiful here.. if you're ever close to New Orleans, the Audubon Zoo has some of the biggest and oldest Oaks around. They are impressive .. I'll have to take some pictures next time we go.

That is a really beautiful tree and I hear you.
I love trees and for so many reasons. They look beautiful, they have a calm effect on you and you get a feeling of being a part of nature 🤗
Absolutely beautiful tree my friend ❤️🌲❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97