The Old Dog Presents: The Spooky Tree Contest!

in #treetuesday5 years ago (edited)

For many years I've been driving by the tree shown here and it has always struck me as being a little on the creepy side. Could it qualify as the setting for a scene in a horror movie? I think so!


I think that trees always seem to be a little scarier in the fall or winter after their leaves have fallen. Do you agree?

Show Me Your Spooky Trees!


In honor of @old-guy-photo's Tree Tuesday Contest I'd like to give you the chance to win some Steem.

Spooky Tree  Contest Rules!


  • Take a picture of a spooky tree
  • Each contestant can enter two photos
  • Please include the photos in the comments below but feel free to create a post as well
  • If you create a post please use the hashtag treetuesday
  • The contest will close when this post pays out
  • I will pick the 5 spookiest to be rewarded 1 Steem each!


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. 
 Until next time,  

  
@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

Hi there @kus-knee, hope this finds you well!

This is a very old oak in the hills of Big Sur, California... known to some locals as the "lip tree" due to the odd looking scarring on the lower parts of the trunk. I think it looks pretty spooking, like there should be lightning and horror movie music playing about now....

X-spooktree.jpg

Awesomely spooky tree and a great photo. Presenting it in black and white makes all the difference for this contest!

Hello @kus-knee, my entry for this contest is a spooky mysterios tree in Martian-like landscape (interesting rock formation in the Southern Serbia). This photo was taken in 2009 and the tree is still alive and equaly spooky.
PICT0082.jpg
In my post, you can see how it looks like during summer season.
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@zoricatech/spooky-tree-contest

Fabulous! What a great entry!

My entry #1:

Cloud18IMG_20171212_0838261.jpg

Hmmmmm I'm getting a déjà vu!

It's a spooky tree. So you are actually getting a deja voodoo :)

Oh you know I am always a fan of your amazing contests and this one will be outstanding! Great to see you back in the contest business! I will do up a post to promote this!

Looking forward to it!

Well here is the post :)
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@old-guy-photos/spooky-tree-contest

I will enter:

levels20180318_144758_HDR.jpg

and:

Stump_MONO_P1160016.JPG

Get it? A stump, a dead tree...spooky LOL!!!

Nicely done! I'm shaking!

Love the theme of the spooky trees.
My two entries

image

image

And the link to my post.
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@nelinoeva/the-spooky-trees-contest-entries-99204e6bb7ca6

Good luck to everyone!

Very well done! I’m afraid!

Without knowing about this contest, these days I have published photos of scary (and a bit fairytale) trees.

Here are the photos: clicking on them, the relative post opens.

1


2


3


Thanks for the contest, @kus-knee!

A huge hug from @amico!

Beautifully scary! Do you live in the Veneto?

Yes mate, I live in a small town between Venice and Treviso: fog and humidity aside, the territory is really beautiful!

@kus-knee,
This is a good contest and I hope I could join this round of contest with a spooky tree! Now it's time to find that type of tree!

Cheers~

Beautiful photograph the whole frame is spooky and oh what a tree.
I'm sure you will get some great entries this time of year.

Will one of the great entries be from you?

thanks for asking.. I may have one..need to look it has been colder than the Antarctic at the time here according to the weather service so I don't know about walking around looking for one.

Little warmer today.. let me look at the deadline I do like your contests.


Here are some dead mangroves I saw at Cayo Jutías - a mangrove-covered key situated in western Cuba. These light logs and branches looked pretty spooky. Though it's a fascinating view, it's sad to see these mangroves dying of thirst.

Very nice entry thanks!

I'm happy you like it. Thanks for the fun contest! :)


Hi @kus-knee! This poor little tree was being blown away in an electrifying storm one day. It was so dark, I thought it was the night when I looked back on the shot.

It blew in and it blew out, leaving the scary behind


Very frightening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87