The New Public Park at Sever do Vouga (Portugal)

in #treetuesday5 years ago

For many years I've seen this space being neglected by the City Hall...

In this part of town, there was nothing but a vacant lot, full of wild grass and piles and piles of dirt, pools of mud, fallen leaves, insects, rats... and who-knows-what-else!?

In the middle of all the dirt, there stood a small and narrow path, opened up by some of the citizens, which was used as a pedestrian shortcut to the center of the town.

I usually come to Sever do Vouga at least once a year, since my uncles live just a few meters away. Last Easter, I visited my uncles again... and to my big shock and surprise, in that forsaken place, I saw this idyllic scenery instead.

r23xspmfqy.jpg

Wait...!? What happened here? I could hardly believe my eyes. Perfectly cut grass, trimmed bushes, fences, lamp posts and benches... and clearly marked paths? What a revolution!!! 😎

d108sotjtw.jpg

The kids now have a space to roam about, without fear of being hit by cars... or bit by rats.

And the city workers took advantage of a small existing creek to convert it to a nice little stream, with mini waterfalls along the way. How cute. 😍

I wonder why the City Hall took 20 years to make something decent out of this place.

9k81txjx76.jpg

To conclude the renovation of this space in big style, they topped it off with a huge Graffiti Mural, which I had already shown you before, in my post The Lamprey Mural in Sever do Vouga.

14lkx1au0x.png
Photo previously uploaded in This Post


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationSever do Vouga - Portugal
Untouched Photos

This is my entry for #TreeTuesday - #SevenDaysOutside Challenge - by @erikah.


I hope you liked these photos. Don't be afraid to type something in the comments. It's free.


2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

That’s a nice area. It doesnt take much to keep there areas up. Bring them back from decay is expensive. This is how you fight global warming. But there is not any fame or money in it

Right. This is what election years are good for. Politicians like to show service, when the date is near! 😁

It sure is. But it is only effected if people vote.
When ever someone complains , I always say you vote for it. Its your fault.
They buy your vote.

0530 -4 hrs to go.

Perhaps the city was out of money?
So where can the kids play? Is it allowed on the grass?
It looks nice.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nah. It's just politics. 😁

They can play anywhere. Plenty of space around!

Over here the area around the city hall looks great.. The rest looks like a dump.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pffff... Can't say I'm surprised. 😑

It is pretty sad that when our governments do things like this it is a shock. Really if they just focused more on things like this all places would be nicer to be in.

Yes, it's sad that this is the exception and not the norm of every day politics. 😐

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great post! So many places are neglected by the governments. Happens a lot all over. But they can spend millions on projects....projects we can see will benefit us in any way..

They also spend millions buying houses, cars and boats for themselves... and sometimes, one of them gets arrested. 😂

hehehe...you are right! Probably they are doing a lot more...we just don't know!!

hey trin!great post!but why did you not take a picture of the graffitti? that's all
hahahahaha

yes.I just finished school and I am tired but I plan on catching up on steemit! hehehehee before I go through another round of studying.

why did you not take a picture of the graffitti?

Haven't I!??

Thanks for stopping by, @nurseanne!!!

I need like a frontal shot.hahahaha

This was the best I could do, because of the fences that are placed in front of it. 😉

Small things can greatly improve a neighborhood... It's not so expensive to have a better environment for the inhabitants. Childs can play safely as you said, people can meet and discuss.... Nice.

Thanks for your visit!

Beautiful park and nice place to spend time with children, I am glad that this place was taken care of :)

Too bad it took them so long. I would have liked this a lot more, when I was 12. 😂

The upcycle of places in Rotterdam is done too attract more people outside I think here that’s done too love it. And again art is a big thing , you are a consistent art mentioner hahahaha love it it’s color to the green area

Yep. Graffiti is on the rise! 😎

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-new-public-park-at-sever-do-vouga-portugal


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97