You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree Tuesday Celebrates with Flowers

in #treetuesday5 years ago

Thank you for taking us there. I always thought I would one day see the cherry blossoms myself but I haven't gotten there yet. Sounds like the first of April is consistantly the time. I'll make a note.

Sort:  

Oh, you ain't dead yet! That is what I say to myself. :)

They do seem to like April, although last year it came early and it was over before the festival began! Unfair! Right??

For the most part, it works out that the festival falls in between the blooms. They also have a Kite Festival to go along with it and a big parade at the end. You must catch the whole show. :) Thank you for the lovely comment always and for your support and friendship.

!tip

I didn't realize there were these other events happening at the same time. I may have to put it at the top of my list.

They do have all these events and more actually! It takes place in the span of a couple weeks so I guess saying that they have them at the same time is a little misleading. It seems like the same time because I live right here and kind of enjoy having something special for several weekends in a row. Having said that oh, there's always a lot to do in between all this. You probably already know this but everything is so very free to visit here, except for the private museums. All of the art galleries in smithsonian's and everything, including the Library of Congress in the Capitol building, all free to get in and a lot of fun to learn about. They all have some Wicked history behind them. Thank you for stopping by and as always for the generous vote that you always give!

!tip

No, really don't know much about DC and that it is free. I've read about the traffic aggravation. If I get there I would like to rent a bike to help in getting around if it's not to dangerous. I do know that during the Labor Day weekend there is a large gathering of African drummers and dancers that hold classes during that long weekend and a show on Saturday night.

Interesting. Yes, they have the rental bikes all over the city, but, a good part of it is walkable and the Metro is readily available as is Uber for further reaching places.

I don't find the traffic aggravating, but, I am never in a huge rush, and alway leave on time. People leave with extra time and then get rushed and aggravated when things slow down, causing more delays by their cutting in.

I have never felt threatened in the least. Well once, a long, long time ago and the first time I lived here. I went into a druggie area which was well known and it is actually far from downtown. :) But, I was just intimidated, nobody threatened me.

Anyway, I am considering going to this here Not sure yet, but, it looks like it would be fun.

The best part of DC is that there is so much to do here. And it's free. Where will they be meeting? Is it attached to the National Museum of African American History and Culture?

Here is last years information about that specific weekend. It's called the Kankouran.
http://kankouran.org/conference/

I see they offer dance and drumming classes throughout the year too.
http://www.kankouran.info/Dance-Instruction-Washington-DC.html

Yes. I am familiar with this. I didn't think this was it as the classes are all year.

Thank you!

I just checked out the source you mentioned previously about Dance Africa. It sounds like it will be professionally done. The 42-year-old tradition definitely gives it credibility. I see the music will be from Rwanda. What I have been studying has all been from West Africa and the Congo.
Looks like they will also have a market for your Mondays.

🎁 Hi @willowwisp! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @willowwisp! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Play Me A Symphony Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86