Because I do care..

in #trevonjb6 years ago

I am what you would call an early adopter. I came to steem on June of 2016, before the first ever Steem payout on July 4th 2016. Since my early days on the platform I've been both very active, and also taken breaks as I've gone after other projects that would momentarily peak my interest. However, I always felt a sense of home base on STEEM.

trevonjbuasteem.png


Steem Permabull

I believe in STEEM because in my view it is one of the most underrated blockchains in the world. I've shared on many of my videos how blocktivity tells the true story behind tokens and their price, so in my view seeing it be so low is not very irrational, and it won't stay low for long.

With all the changes coming, with hardfork 20 right around the corner, I can't help but to be bullish on STEEM despite of how the markets look today. The feature that excites me the most, is how easy account creation will become. This to me has always been the biggest obstacle.


My biggest Regret


My biggest regret was shifting my focus from steem to other projects that were not sustainable. I was so crazy over the idea of profits that I forgot about something that is more important, a community. And Steem has community built into it through it's blockchain

That is why I've come back over the past 4 to 5 months. I even made a video about this, shared a vulnerable moment, because I finally understood what this is all about. My efforts have shifted, I've focused for months now on building a community around myself using Steem curation, trying to help other people too with delegations and support. Putting my Steem Power to work.

This is why I'm writing this open letter, because I want everyone to know what I'm up to, and what my hopes are. What I want to see happen, not just for me, but for everyone who is on STEEM too.


How steem-ua can be the difference


It's very simple for me to see right now. Because the way the current system is, you have to wait days, sometimes week to get your account approved, and if you lose your keys by mistake and you need to get a new account, that could easily turn into months.

Mass adoption becomes impossible with a system like this. But after they are here, how do we keep those users on STEEM? How do we keep them engaged, making good content, building communties ect?

From where I stand @steem-ua is the most suitable answer. It can provide a system of incentives for people to keep on keeping on. Why would anybody leave if there is a giant whale curating those who are engaging with each other? Why would people feel the system is broken, when they are seeing curation finally happening?

The distribution of the Steem Coin is a problem, but people being ignored is even a bigger problem than that. @steem-ua tackles both of those problems by making people want to power up and participate in it, and that is what we all want to see.

As someone who has gotten flagged a lot, it might be surprising for you to hear me say that I don't think flags are the problem here. The problem is that even though STEEM already has great incentive for people to power up, they don't do so because they see the goal too far away. Powering up 100 tokens does not sound like a life changing decision, but with @steem-ua it could be, and that is my point.

Imagine how this place would look if people stopped selling everything they make and adopt the right mindset. If we have more people having 500 SP on their wallets, and not so many dust vote accounts.


I've delegated 22,222 to steem-ua


And because I want people to see my intentions here, I told @scipio that I wanted to decline rewards on it. I realize that makes me sound crazy, but there is a reason for it. I want this place to be a place for everyone, not just for whales, not just for people with money as it has become.

I don't know of a better way to show the community that I mean these words, than by doing that. Because words are just words, if action don't follow. And that is also something I'm trying to do different.

Just a few days ago on @steem-ua's discord, I said publicly that I would up my delegation to the project once it reached 450K SP. But today I thought about an even better way of showing my support for this idea.

For every 50K SP the project reaches, I will up my delegation another 5K SP. Basically adding 10% on top. And who knows. Maybe I'll delegate all of it out. But if it helps STEEM moon, then I'm going to put my money where my mouth is and do it.

I hope other users with high SP join me too, because I think this is a golden opportunity to make a difference, not just now, but for years to come. We could be changing the game entirely.

What's not to love about that?-


Follow My Curation Trail
Join my discord chat and read pinned message for steps to be added to our trail: https://discord.gg/cRhAFXK
Curation Trail Stats by @karega http://trailbase.io/#/trail/trevon
Follow My Curation Trail

Sort:  

Trevon, I have followed you but decided for myself not to invest in Bitconnect. Genesis mining and steem is still here right? For anyone that didn't see BCC for what it was needed to get the hit we all get at least once in crypto. Keep going man, you are entertaining and sometimes you are good with analysis. Usually influencers are too optimistic even during this loong downtrend.

Haha I even made a drawing of you!! Remember?

2S0X14M.jpg

Wow! I don’t remember it being this detailed! Thank you for the continued support!

I gave you great gift

Thank you for the vote :) both of you

Hey Tre. I've been following you since before the whole Bitconnect thing went down. Lost a good bit there, myself. I was never willing to hop on the hate train and call you a scammer, because there's part of the human mind that wants to believe in things that are "too good to be true."

Besides, I could tell in your livestreams and YouTube videos that you had a good heart. You always did huge giveaways of daily BTC before everyone else started copying that. Even when they did copy it, they gave away much less than you did. People also forget or don't know that you came up from nothing by the sheer force of your passion for making YouTube videos. You were one of the earliest crypto YouTubers back when no one was doing it.

I'm proud of you for making this post and just want to say that I believe forgiveness is one of the most powerful things in our world. I know there are factions that want you perma-blacklisted and hell, maybe this comment will even get downvoted to invisibility for showing you support.

To be clear I'm not trying to just paint over everything and pretend nothing ever happened. But I think this gesture of yours is a good start towards repairing your relationship within the STEEM community. To anyone reading this, stop and think for a minute before you make a snap judgement—

Are you really doing the right thing by ostracizing one of the longest-standing proponents of the STEEM blockchain because he made some bad decisions in the past, for which he's apologized genuinely and stated the intention to work towards making up for?

Give him a chance to make things right.

he wasn't giving away free bitcoin he was doing "giveaways" as marketing to recruit new members into the bitconnect ponzi

he initially mislead people into the scam claiming guaranteed profits and you still follow him?

if he wanted to make things right he would airdrop a majority of his ill gotten gains to his victims its well over $1.5million

how did you get there

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

How did you win this prestigious honor sir?

It's not really prestigious. It's just one bidbot owner who name squatted the 'badcontent' username and tries to pretend like he has authority on the network.

Oh and he uses it as a PR tool to make people use his bot.

Does the PR tool, make consenting adults lose their mind and send money to the bot?

Can you please explain what your name means?

To me it sounds like you are a danger to young and innocent girls.... (well maybe boys too) Why would you choose such a name? What does it say about you?

!popcorn

Well put, I have heard rumors of sexual harassment utilizing flag power very wrong....

Wtf is Partiko?

Mobile app for iOS and Android. Simple, sleek, and functional unlike others great for on the go!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The distribution of the Steem Coin is a problem
Yes, you know how bad the starting distribution took place. It's barely better with the current model, with the bidbots raking in most of the inflation.

Imagine how this place would look if people stopped selling everything they make and adopt the right mindset
Even if people didn't sell their STEEM straight after earning it, and if the overall crypto markets were stable instead of bearish, STEEM wouldn't scale economically with the current model. The daily distributed value (i.e. printed STEEMs) doesn't scale with the userbase, actually its the opposite. Back when there was 50K users on this network, top posts made 10K+, and bitcoin was worth much less than today! Now we have 1M+ users and you cant make more than $100 without using a bid bot, even if you are top of the steem-ua list.

Steem UA seems like a good algorithm (from my perspective) but sadly it's not in the blockchain and isn't used for coin distribution, so that doesn't solve much atm.

Steem UA seems like a good algorithm (from my perspective) but sadly it's not in the blockchain and isn't used for coin distribution

this is why Steem is building the Oracle-SMT ;)
SMT + Oracle = Simplified (social) Smart contract

yeah early into bit connect haha we all know how that turned out scammer

🤣😂🤣😂🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really appreciate what you're trying to do for the steemit community. You're actually the one that introduced me to all this a while back. Keep up the good work.

I hear this a lot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I delegated 250SP & saved a ton on my car insurance by swithing to ua!

LOL! I like that one

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you friend 👍

Right on man I remember my son and I watching you live stream back when he was a baby and they are the same age.. so that was awhile ago! Always glad to have you here brotha!

Dope. Thanks bro!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I might have to get more to steem to delegate! 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

You should!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This correction keeps making me think I can get them cheaper lol... might have to dollar cost average down from here 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

I sold some yesterday and gonna just sit and wait to see how low it goes. May be able to double it up

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27