Trial by Comics returns and first theme of 2018 announced!

in #trialbycomics6 years ago (edited)

It’s a New Year and this is the return of Trial by Comics! The first theme of 2018 follows up our last of 2017, which was “Star Trek”. In a courages act of selfless, the new theme is “Star Wars”. I am not [blasphemous, I know], a Star Wars fan. What draws me to Star Trek is it’s basis in real science and struggles with human conflicts we deal with currently, like greed, prejudice and corruption. Star Wars is probably the ultimate “good versus evil” film of our lifetime, but I have a hard time sitting through the first six episodes [The Force Awakens was good, but that’s because you motherfuckers poached Abrams from Star Trek to save your space muppets franchise]. Okay. I’m done. Moving on with the contest.

Dig deep in to your inner nerdom for this one. It’s the first of the New Year and artists like @beekart, @justmousepixels, @artistchristian, @artwatch and others have really set a high bar. Any character across any timeline is appropriate. I’m hoping to see at least one Yoda on Luke’s back. Be creative. There are so many incredible worlds in the Star Wars universe, I’d love to just see concept art style entries of the Dagobah swamps or mech style blueprint illustrations of the Millennium Falcon.

Here’s the artwork for the new theme I’ve been sketching and re-sketching over the last two days. A moment from Kylo Ren’s lightsaber battle against Rey in the winter forest. Usually, the contest artwork is just flavor for the announcement, but I was happy with how this turned out. It was an exercise in drawing something I’m not super in to. I had to do a lot of costume research, the build the drawing up and tear it down before finally getting to a point I was happy with it. Lots of referencing Capullo’s Batman run, if you couldn’t tell.

Here’s a refresher on the rules, deadline and prizes.

Deadline for “Star Wars” is Sunday, January 21st 5:00UTC 12:00a.m. CTS

Rules

• Up to three entries per trial round [weekly].

• Original artwork only [process documentation strongly encouraged]

• Winners will be chosen based on quality of work, submitted before deadline and ability to adhere to the weekly trial theme

• Must resteem the contest post you’re participating in

• Must include #trialbycomics hashtag [please note the change because this is how we will find your entry]


First place winner will receive 20.000SBD, second place winner will receive 10.000SBD and the third place winner will receive 5.000SBD. If you’d like to contribute to the prize or match my own, please contact me as a sponsor for future Trial by Comics contests, but note that sponsors cannot participate in that weeks #trialbycomics!

Don’t forget, we have a Trial by Comics Discord channel. For inspiration and conversation with the other regular artists that participate in Trial by Comics, come join the community. We’d love to have you!

That’s it! Start drawing and get those entries in by next Sunday. Thank you again, all of you, for making Trial by Comics such a success in a very short amount of time. For more comics, art and photography, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

A lot of people were waiting for this!

Yeah! Including me. I wanted to get the holidays past us @airmatti!

I can't draw well enough to take part in this contest, but made many Star Wars characters in 3d form. Here is full scale BB8 I was building for half a year. :)

Hi @kommienezuspadt This is my first trial by comics entry. Thank you for organizing this.

starwars7.jpg

https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@theia7/trial-by-comics-star-wars-first-entry-bb-8-and-r2-d2

Aw is my photo not loading? :(

I can see it. Everything is ok ;)

Wonderful drawing, I love the "crispness" of your style, if that's even a word. :P

Thank you! XD

Excellent work @marty-arts, one of the best work I've seen in digital art, I liked it a lot like the realism that you give to drawing.

Nice to read it, thanks so much.. but there are things i could do better :)

Wow! This is awesome!

Hello friends ... I found this contest rolling by steemit and it caught my attention so I decided to participate. This is my first entry, I hope you like my drawing <3

https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@rosicreative/entry-1-for-star-wars-drawing-of-leia-organa-contest-by-kommienezuspadt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73