Trial by Comics winners for “Free Draw” and new theme announced!

Hiya, Steemians! Welcome back to Trail by Comics! I’m a bit behind on announcing the winners of “Free Draw” and the new theme. My apologies. Once upon a time, I told you all that I started to this contest as a motivator to keep me drawing comic art. As such, each week’s theme would be something I personally wanted to draw. That’s been true since the beginning and I couldn’t have been more excited to draw this week’s new theme. It was a huge challenge […which came as a surprise to me as someone who fancies himself a monster enthusiast]. Enough about that. You’ll see after the winners of “Free Draw”.

FIRST PLACE! Our first place winner this week is @ferjart for his work, “Trial by comics: Heart and body (NEW Digital illustration)”, I loved everything about this. @ferjart is a previous Trial by Comics winner and I’ve loved keeping up with his recent digital art. This was a great entry, and the process photos were a real treat. Thanks for entering. Congratulations! 25.000 SBD to you.

SECOND PLACE! @artwatch doesn’t realize it, but she tapped “Trial by fire! #trialbycomics 3 entries in one!”. For years, I was obsessed with wood burning techniques. I used to spend hundreds of dollars on Walnut Hallow wood cuts and burn intricate designs and nouveau art in to the surface. Three for one in a single entry was nice, and I love that it’s a different medium to the Trial by Comics contest. Congratulations, @artwatch. 10.000 SBD to you! 

THIRD PLACE! @robertorangel wins third place this week with his entry, “Trial by Comics/my second entry/“. This was a great breakdown on a character from head and body proportions. The fundamentals of comic book art and I love the characters look. Process photos will always push you over the edge in Trial by Comics. It’s usually the tie breaker. Thanks for entering. 5.000 SBD coming to you, @robertoangel.

MERIT AWARDS! Each week, there are far more entries than the three winners. Even during the endless crypto winter, the art scene here on Steemit has thrived. I’ve even seen a few of my favorite artists return to the community. I like to take a moment each contest to recognize some of these artists for their talent and participation in Trail by Comics. All of them deserve your follows, support and votes. Without further adieu, here are the merit awards for “Free Draw”!

@yanes94


@jeffersom


@rosiryscg


@jesusmedit


@robertrz

Trial by Comics new theme is “Lovecraft” 

I was SO excited when I thought of this theme. I’ve always loved Lovecraftian horror. It was one of the first things @ghostfish and I realized we had in common when I moved to Minneapolis. Kassogtha, Nyarlathotep and of course, Cthulhu. As an avid Magic: The Gathering player, so many of the creatures and monsters are clearly derived from Lovecraft’s dark visions […pretty much the entire Eldrazi]. So, do your Lovecraft homework, and let’s see your best depiction of an evil Elder God. 


Deadline for “Lovecraft” is Sunday, January 6th 5:00UTC 12:00a.m. CTS
 

Rules 

• Up to three entries per trial round [weekly]

• Original artwork only [process documentation strongly encouraged]

• Winners will be chosen based on quality of work, submitted before deadline and ability to adhere to the weekly trial theme

• Must resteem the contest post you’re participating in

• Must include #trialbycomics hashtag

That’s it! Now it’s time to start drawing. Congratulations to all the winners. Thank you all for regularly contributing and making Trail by Comics such a cornerstone of the Steemit art and comics community. I want to take a moment to encourage all of you to check out Trial by Comics: Exposé. This is an effort I've undertaken to further support and grow the comics community on Steemit. I'll be having candid conversations with artists, creators, writers, inkers and publishers in the comic and art community. I recently talked with Thomas Nachlik, artist for "The Beauty" by Image comics. This week, I'll be posting an interview with James Butler, creator of Figurosity; a web based tool that I've been using for every drawing I've done in the last year. Can't wait to share the conversation with him. You can still join the Trail by Comics Discord channel while you’re at it. Happy Holidays!

Sort:  

I lurk and wait for submissions... I will punish those that prove inadequate, curse them with the darkest magic... so, humans race for the first place like your soul and sanity depends on it!!

"... also, good luck!"

dude your drawing skills are amazing ;)

Congratulations winners :D Lots of great entries ! As expected from the FREE DRAW theme ! :D ... And WOWOWOW, what a great next round's theme !!!

Amazing~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58439.16
ETH 2965.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69