Trial by Comics winners for "Sequential Art" and new theme announced!

in #trialbycomics6 years ago (edited)

Good evening comic enthusiasts, artists and collectors or Steemit! I’m a few days late with the winners and new theme for Trail by Comics, but this event has taken on a life of it’s own. I love it, but it’s a part time job in and of itself just to keep up with. Scrolling through the #trialbycomics tag, I look at and read every entry and I know you all put so much time in to your weekly submission. I have to budget my voting power so that every entry gets a vote and sometimes that spread over a week or more because of the sheer volume of amazing art.

The Trial by Comics Discord channel has become a really active, thriving community. I’ve been getting to meet talented artists that regular participate in the trials. Illustrators like @yanes94, @katari, @goodnode and @gvand are all there. We have a channel just for art promotion, comic discussion and a general post promotion area. Special thanks to @w0olf for helping to moderate and organize our Discord. He’s also the weekly host of Design a Character contest, which you should all check out if you’re reading this.

A quick mention on this week’s theme, Sequential Art. When I first started Trial by Comics, this was the theme I had in mind. In fact, I wanted to do sequential art exhibitions every week. I decided to wade in to the pool with more abstract themes, like zombies, heroes, villains, and more recently, the fundamental like pencils, inks and colors. Honestly, I expected a pull back from the usual tidal waves of entries because sequential art is such a hard skill to learn. You all proved me wrong, as there were more entries this week than ever before. Without further adieu, here are your winners.

First Place goes to @la-fumettista! I’m SO glad she decided to enter as I’ve been a fan of her works since she first joined Steemit. I came across @la-fumettista from her comic work with @drwatson for "Ithaqa". This week’s theme was tailored precisely for her. I’m humbled to have you participate and you totally owned “Sequential Art” this week. Congratulations! 25.000 SBD’s to you!


Second Place goes to @morbyjohn, which was really cool for me. This was my first time seeing any of @morbyjohn’s work and I love that. There are our usual bangers that swoop in here every week and own the contest, but I love having new talent disrupt order. Maybe it’s the anarchist in me. His entry "Trial by Comics: SEQUENTIAL ART ENTRY #1" featuring Daredevil was so well done. I love the tones. Watercolor, grey-wash I’m assuming. Great entry, mate. 10.000SBD’s to you!


Third Place goes to @rehanrhapsody for his entry, “Trial by Comics : Sequential Art”. Another new name in the the stage of winning combatants, which is a great thing. This entry just took me back to high school, sketching out little thumbnails on the back of notebooks. Just raw creativity, great camera work and perspective. Some of the foreshortening on these cells was top shelf. Great job, @rehanrhapsody! 5.000 SBD’s to you!

If you didn’t make it in to the top three, please don’t let that discourage you. Each week, I do a run down of merit awards. The five entries that followed first, second and third place. This week, because I have a little extra in the reward pool to spare, I’m going to be sending 1.000SBD to the following participants. Remember, though, I upvote every one that enters Trial by Comics as well. 

@hidan08


@crittercrats


@anacris10


@cryplectibles


@adrianhaman11

So, you’re probably wondering whats next. I’m going to really shake things up and introduce a new medium to the contest, but one that so essential that none of your favorite comics would exist without it. Truly, the force behind the curtain that supports the beautiful art we know, read and love. I’m talking about comic book writing. The foundation for readable stories and how set the canvas for the artists. This isn’t a skillset all artists possess, but it’s essential to the comic book process. If it’s not in your tool box, give it a try […or take a week off and read the entries coming in. Maybe you’ll be inspired]. 


SPECIAL RULES! I can’t read 120 full page scripts, so for this week’s contest, please do not exceed three pages in usual script format. Speaking of format, you may write in whatever method you chose, meaning full script or plot based [Marvel]. There’s a great resource on the different approaches to writing scripts for comics and graphic novels on Comics Beats. Have a look if you need to familiarize yourself. 

Deadline for “Writing” is Sunday, April 8th 5:00UTC 12:00a.m. CTS

Rules 

• Up to three entries per trial round [weekly]. 

• Original stories and writing only 

• Winners will be chosen based on quality of work, submitted before deadline and ability to adhere to the weekly trial theme 

• Must resteem the contest post you’re participating in 

• Must include #trialbycomics hashtag [please note the change because this is how we will find your entry] 

As always, thank you all for keeping Trail by Comics alive and well. It’s astounding to me how prolific the #trialbycomics hashtag is when I search it. Hundreds of works of original art, every week! Join our Discord to share your work, theme suggestions or to sponsor the next challenge. Thank you all for participating. Now, start writing!

For more comics, illustration and art, follow me here @kommienezuspadt. I post often. Have a great night!

Sort:  

This was so awesome to participate in! A lot of great work from the other particpants. It's amazing how many talented people are here on Steemit and this contest really brought some amazing artists to my attention. I love connecting with other creative people; it's often very inspiring and motivating. Will definitely be looking to join in for future contests. Thank you XD

Congratulations, @la-fumettista. Your works are spectacular. Keep it up.

Yesss! A writing challenge! I'm in!!!

Yeah, @drwatson! I was really hoping you'd get excited about this and enter. I love all your work with Ithaqa!

Thanks man that means a lot! I am super excited!

Should these be self contained stories, or would a scene be eligible too?

I didn't expect to win this contest thank you very much sir. Hoping to have more contest about arts I am always willing to share some more.

Nice! Something I can enter, since I'm no artist. :) For the script entries, is there any specific theme/idea, or just whatever three pages we want?

Ah, on re-reading, a weekly theme is mentioned, but no theme is given​ yet? Or am I missing it?

It’s a broad theme of writing, @jpgaltmiller. You’re free to write about any topic, subject or genre. I wanted a week to give the writers a chance to flex their creative muscles.

You got a 17.29% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @customnature!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Bellissimo

Wonderful post ..thanks for sharing...Best of luck friend ✫

this is the best bot for steembottracker clik here https://steemit.com/bots/@hassanbenali/the-best-bot-for-service-how-to-create-steem-bot-tracker

Transfer 0.200 SBD or 0.250 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo you get 5 good UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1 +followers

Congratulations to the winners -)

Thank you @kommienezuspadt. I'm really bad in writing but I think I should give it a try. :)

Resteem to 1370+ Follower . Send 0.250 SBD or 0,300 STEEM to @music-curation ( URL as memo ) + 16 upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59