Eagle Spirit's Kitchen --->Making Traditional Salsa Roja De Molcajete

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

If it's one thing I love is homemade salsa and it saves quite a bit on the wallet if you eat this regularly like I do. The organic salsa I have occasionally purchased was $6 USD, so by making this at home is not only less expensive but healthier since it does not have additives. All ingredients I use are organic, free of pesticides, and genetically modified organisms.

Blue Wood.png

Recently, I purchased a fairly good molcajete and decided to start using it regularly. The sauce I decided to do is called Traditional Salsa Roja.This is a common sauce my Tata would make and have in our refrigerator since it just about goes with everything.

Our common meal was rice and beans or we had rice and beans with pretty much everything. As a child I thought this was a horrible meal, but in actuality it was very healthy and filling. We didn't always have meat so we made burritos with Nana's homemade tortillas. I'll share that with you at another time.

unnamed.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

The first thing you want to do is roast your tomatoes, onions and Serrano peppers.You can use up to 8 tomatoes and half an onion, the peppers are to taste.

0.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

Next, after everything has roasted nicely you will add garlic and this is for taste too since some people do not like garlic or eat very little of it. I tend to love lots of garlic.

unnamed1.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

Then you will add each item in small batches to your molcajete and slowly start to mash it with the pestle.

unnamed2.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

The texture will look similar to the above, especially since everything was roasted it mashes very easily. If you like your salsa less thick, then keep mashing. Just don't hurt your arm in the process.

unnamed7.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

Add salt to taste, I will use a teaspoon at a time and this time I only used 1 teaspoon since I only used 4 tomatoes. When cooking I've taken a liking to pink himalayan salt, it really gives a nice flavor to the sauces I've been making lately. You might like it too.

unnamed3.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

You will then add about 1/2 cup of cilantro, fully washed and chopped. I like my cilantro a bit on the thicker side, so if you like a more fluid salsa then you want to cut everything into smaller pieces and mashed to your desired texture.

unnamed5.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

This isn't exactly the type of container my Tata would use but it seals up nicely and has a good wide opening for a spoon to easily dish this out onto a plate. The photo gives you a nice peek at how the salsa looks in the jar. I prefer a little less chunky but this came out pretty good.

unnamed4.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

I added 1/2 of a lime to my salsa but that's what my grandparents did, you can opt out of this last bit if you do not like the taste of lime in your salsa. Some people even add some lemon but that is not really my favorite flavoring to use. Feel free to explore your taste buds.

unnamed6.jpg

Photo by Eagle Spirit

There you have it, this isn't difficult to make at all and it will save you quite a bit of money too, and more importantly you will not be eating out of a can or jar processed by someone else. Bon appetit!

Yours,

QmXjtAmwcMN2UZUKqEHNNuFtbMT54MpWoTwgVvrSxsRSDc.png

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday and #FreedomFriday, so if you are interested in receiving Native American Medicine stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

A'OO, Eagle Spirit

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

thank you i appreciate that ! :)

Awesome, I love that kind of salsa!
Thanks for sharing @eaglespirit!!!
/FF

woo hoo ... can you make it or do you? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55