A road less travelled.

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

6d70d2a8-70f5-466b-8200-2090face7cf0.jpeg


The closest store to me now is a 15 minute walk from home. This is the road.
.
Giving up an OXXO or Starbuck's on every corner is not the right lifestyle choice for everyone...
.
...and that fact is exactly what keeps this road so clear, calm, and quiet.🌴
.
Speaking of which...
.
I have an EARNEST QUESTION to ask you: How often/long are you able to share enjoyable, comfortable silence with other humans? Do you even want to?
.
Why are we socialized out of quietude?
.
From the very beginning... ga-ga-goooby-doooh!🍼... there is a rush to fill all silence with noise and nonsense.
.
And the blathering carries well into adulthood. Just with fancier, poly-syllabic sounds.
.
But when given the chance to step outside the blaring parade of commerce and neurotic impulse...
.
...you are greeted by the integrating voice of your own soul, which is too dignified to shout.
.
I choose this as life. Not vacation. Not retreat. But mindful, peaceful everyday life.
.
Know your needs, so you can meet your needs. 🦋🌺


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I believe silence between two individuals tends to allow uncomfortable feelings to rise to the surface. That might be what most folks try to avoid... Thus, the talking.

Great observation, @alexlapointe. I agree.

When silence is befriended and shared, what it brings is far from uncomfortable. Deeper bonding. Wordless fluency of eyes and face.

I think humans who have strong attachments with the animal kingdom also understand non-verbal comm better.

As a filmmaker, I wonder how you play with scripted/dialogued scenes, versus non-speaking ones.

I very much agree with silence allowing deeper bonding.
With films, I try to explore and play around with both dialogue and silence. I don't like it when it's all about talking. Silence reveals a lot as well.

The only thing that is better than Quiet is when I see a response from @erikaharris..........

Thanks for making me smile, @stokjockey. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95