You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Does Anarchy Mean To You? - The @tribesteemup Community Question

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

The question is subjective — ie. what is means to you, and I do appreciate your answer here; however I disagree on some points. I agree that anarchist societies can voluntarily adopt constitution. But I don't think it's compulsory. Nor is society compulsory.

The term you were looking for is "within anarchy" instead of "under anarchy." :)

I also feel you've mixed up some qualities of voluntarism with anarchism.

I do agree about the premise that we are ready, or most of us are, to step into consensual way of life.

I agree that there's only a teeny percentage of truly and only destructive and corrupted.

You know what though, I believe that even those are most often "troubled" and the percentage is even 1% of that 1%. The majority of even the worst troubled people can be supported. For example, there are great strides being made with dialectic behavior therapy to support people with dark triad personality traits. It's being found that only a small percentage of those who have dark triad behavior, are truly dark triad personalities.

I agree the answers need not be answered all at once as well.

The unchanging strict order, ultimate authority (even an immutable constitution), control, and other restrictions and confinements inhibit the natural answers to be widely understood by most. For instance, if so many people — maybe generations into anarchy — we're no longer so resentful inside, would it increase our natural empathy for one another: in way of building, healing, etc.? I foresee it would.

If the world were entirely lacking all forms of strict demonization and idolization, would a generation of people who have not been dehumanized by their loved ones become well esteemed, and consequently less witholding? I think so.

I also agree that Steem is a step in a direction toward opening people's minds to considering anarchy; although it's not really representative, as there's not yet a truly decentralized interface that I'm aware of. But it's a thought experiment in practice and very interesting to say the least.

@zyx066 brought up this video so I watched it and responded here and there. :)

Forgive my rocking this boat but I feel also as one who is a centrist anarchistic person, that I appreciate all the colors of anarchy; cannot fully agree to it being pinned down by voluntarism (although I like voluntarism, libertarianism, constitutionalism, etc.) .... I feel if it were to be that all rulers stepped down from position, there would be those of us who didn't form communities, those who would, those would be very conservative and some liberal, and so on... some would be isolationist and homesteading off land, and some would be running in the streets drinking beers being drunk and disorderly. LOL

Sort:  

Hi @omitaylor. Thanks for this thoughtful reply. So much good information in here and I agree with a lot of what you said. Although I haven't given this as much thought as you have so far, I agree that there is room for many ideologies, so long as they don't involve forcing your will upon others.

I also like your point about the dark personality types. I agree that very few of these personality traits are set in stone. They tend to be behaviour patterns as a response to specific life themes or events, even if they have been passed on epigenetically. Therefore in most cases, there can be a shift.

Ta Sam :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87