You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Would You Do for Society If You Had All the Resources You Needed? (@TribeSteemUp Bi-Weekly Question)

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

Solid! I hadn't heard of horizontal justice before but it sounds much more sound to me. What is the point of punishment? Do we really want to let such ego-centric desires decide how we run society?

As for healers, I think there are many more healers than we realize but so many do not fit the qualifications of typical professions. I know homeless people who are healers but didn't fit the role of psychologist or formal teacher or "life coach". They do lots of healing from where they are though, but its hard when they are still healing from all kinds of trauma themselves.

I think empowered intentional communities that have a peaceful worldview and are accepting and encouraging of individuality are incredibly healing and helped me heal from a lot of trauma too.

Awesome post!!!!

Sort:  

What is the point of punishment?

I think about this a lot. I think that many people would say that the point of punishment is to deter bad behavior, to inspire prosocial or ethical behavior, or to satisfy our natural appetite for justice. The research doesn't support the notion that punishment achieves these aims, though, in kids or people of any age. It's interesting to me that the belief in it persists, and the urge for vengeance. Why did such a reflex evolve in us, and why do so many of is continue to nurture it?

I love your point about there being more healers than we might recognize or expect, given a person's situation, appearance, or "qualifications". I've found that most (if not all) healers I've met do seem to have some amount of trauma and hardship in their past. This makes sense, since suffering often leads to compassion, in my experience, and compassion is a vital component of healing work.

I'm encouraged to hear that you've found intentional communities that have helped you with your healing. I believe community is the source of much of our healing, as well as the place where we're called to show up powerfully to help others heal.

Thanks for reading and for your thoughtful response. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84