Chestnuts for dinner!

in #tribesteemup5 years ago (edited)

Hey!
I went out to a place where I knew there was a big chestnut tree. I was a bit late in the season to go looking for them as I had been on a holiday people and animals had already gathered most of them... But I could still find enough for one meal.

IMG_4912.JPG

I blessed each of them with a cross cut:

IMG_7973.JPG

And placed them carefully on the hot embers in the stove. Hot, hot!

IMG_3065.JPG

I took them out after about 20 minutes and I understood where the expression 'To pull the chestnuts out of the fire for someone' came from. That is tricky business!
I think I left them in a bit too long as some where very scorched, 15 minutes would probably be perfect.
I peeled the hard skin off and on the ones that were well done the soft skin came off easily too.
It was a )bit of work and there were ashes everywhere, but it was worth the trouble!

(

The chestnuts were very sweet and had that nice smokey taste from the fire, yum! I added a little butter and had it with fried mushrooms and the last tomatoes from the garden with some pesto. I wasn't very hungry this evening and it filled me up just right. I have really enjoyed it.

I hope you feel inspired to go look for the last chestnuts in your area. It's fun to make!

Love Clara @wombloom

logo4.png

I am a proud member of:

image.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

LOGO-bg-wh-no-outline.jpg

Sort:  

I have never tried this, but I want to - thanks for posting it and showing how simple it seems to be (just hot!). :)

My pleasure! Have you got chestnut trees over there?

I think so? I know we have them where I grew up in OR, so probably in WA too...

Go look for them!

wonderful. iave done this in the chestnut orchards of brittany , france. superb

It's so cozy to watch them on the coals huh?

15413566474131229391356.jpg
IMG_20181104_193734.jpg
I catch some chestnut too today but i boil most of them ;)

Aw, nice to see!!!
That is probably easier, but you won't get the smokey taste...

True ^^ Sometimes i cook them also on the fire place and they are very tasty ^^

What a pitty the tree hasn't got anymore :-(

Nooo =( I's a pity, chestnuts are so good ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86