You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One of the Key Roadblocks for Mainstream Crypto Adoption (my opinion)

in #triptolemus6 years ago

Nice post, and I couldn't agree more.

I remember when I first bought bitcoin in 2013, it was relatively painless, mainly because someone else pretty much held my hand. But my first purchase ~using~ bitcoin was nerve-wrecking. The idea that there's no chance for a refund if I made a mistake had me biting my nails for the 10+ minutes it took for the transaction to go through. After that, however, my confidence in bitcoin improved dramatically.

So, I'd agree that the two most limiting factors are (1) people don't really know how to acquire and spend it, and (2) they don't want to wait minutes (or days) for a transaction to process.

The other influencing factors are (3) fear of all the horror stories of people losing everything to hard drive failure or loss of the encryption key, (4) having just too many cryptocurrency options (although unknowledgeable people inevitably just think of bitcoin when considering crypto), and (5) a lack of trust.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83