Is It Worth Spending Money on Travel?

in #triptolemus6 years ago

As I get deeper and deeper into the time of year when I do the most traveling (which is pretty much fall through spring), I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to travel and why I think it’s so valuable.

A lot of close friends and family ask me about the money it costs to travel.

In their experience, going on “vacation” means going to some resort on a beach somewhere and spending thousands of dollars for a short week or 10 day vacation.

This is where I begin the conversation. I begin by telling them that this “traditional vacation” is not only way to travel and garner some amazing life experiences.


Breaking Out of the “Traditional Vacation” Mindset:

If you want to travel more and experience the world, then you have to break out of this traditionalist mindset when it comes to vacation.

Traveling is not the same thing as going on vacation. When you go on vacation, you’re taking a short trip to some “paradise-like” adventure where everything is planned before you embark on your trip.

There’s nothing really wrong with that, some people prefer to vacation in that way.

But if you’re looking to do a lot of traveling and you’re looking for adventure rather than some pre-planned paradise, then you need to understand this key difference:

Traveling differs from vacation in that it is an adventure that you embark upon. You pick a place to fly to, buy your ticket and pack minimally.

You may pick a few activities that you can potentially do and you write them in a note on your phone, but you don’t make a full itinerary in advance.

The adventure and venturing into unknown territory is what makes traveling so interesting and fun.

It’s also what makes traveling so much cheaper than vacationing.


Is It Worth the Money?

This is a question that I get really often. Many of my friends constantly question me on whether or not it’s worth spending my hard-earned money traveling to various countries around the world.

My answer:

Of course it’s worth it!!!

Traveling is one of the best ways to gain experiences and knowledge. It changes your perspective and it changes the very principles by which you live your life.

Something that I find very interesting is the idea of increasing your earning potential by traveling.

What I mean by this is that you will be far more motivated to earn more money if you have a good reason to spend it on great life experiences.

These life experiences then stack up and increase your ability to earn more money.

It creates a sort of virtuous cycle where you earn money to go on trips that make you open up your mind to a world of new opportunities and then you leverage those new experiences to earn more money which in turn allows you to get more experiences and those experiences then help you earn even more money.

This is the virtuous cycle of traveling: you become more motivated to earn than ever, then you execute on that motivation, then you travel, then you feel even more empowered then before and so on and so forth.

I talk a lot about the snowball effect and there’s a good reason why. I see the snowball effect everywhere I look.

Traveling is no different. Traveling is a way to start a snowball effect your earning capabilities in life not just in terms of motivation but also in terms of knowledge and execution!!

You only get one life, don’t waste it by sitting in a cubicle or at a desk somewhere staring at a screen, get out there and enjoy your life and everything this beautiful world has to offer!!


Sort:  

Oh you have no idea how much I love this article and its message!
That's why I didn't wait too long to resteem it :-))

What I mean by this is that you will be far more motivated to earn more money if you have a good reason to spend it on great life experiences.

Fully agreed!

Human beings are goal oriented creatures. If we know why we're spending time on something, everything seems a lot more logical to us.

You only get one life, don’t waste it by sitting in a cubicle or at a desk somewhere staring at a screen, get out there and enjoy your life and everything this beautiful world has to offer!!

Oh YES!!! :-)

Thanks for this great piece of content which should be top trending during the next 48 hours or so...

Wow thank you so much @surfermarly!!! I got a notification of your comment and I couldn't believe that a superstar like yourself actually read my post ;)

I've seen you around Steem before and I know that you're a veteran of the platform. First of all, thanks for all you do in this community and thanks for spreading a positive vibe and being an inspiration!

Exactly. I totally agree with you on human beings being goal oriented. I think that's what causes a large amount of grief in western culture - humans used to have the ultimate and immediately important goal of survival as hunters and gatherers but we've moved away from that in western culture. Now many of us have no idea what our goals should be. We've turned away from the goal of survival to the goals of materialism and that's a dangerous path.

I've recently begun to look beyond those materialistic desires and now I'm trying to spend my time and money on experiences rather than possessions.

Thank you again for reading it, supporting me and leaving your kind words here, you're too kind!

Hehe, sweet! I'm glad you enjoyed the comment in such way, and also sorry for replying that late. You just caught me traveling (without no keys available) and then I didn't manage to catch up immedeitaly.

But hey, what's written on the blockchain, stays on the blockchain - so we have plenty of time to fill in the gaps actually...:-)

Thanks for calling me a superstar which is much better than veteran, since the latter makes me feel terribly old - lol. Jokes aside, I don't feel special at all but am happy that I was able to put a smile on your face :-)

Have a wonderful weekend of yours!!
xxx Marly

Ah very inspiring and well said! Love the intro photo too! Correction though most of us only remember one life at a time and as for travelling verses vacationing it sounds far better than doing the same ole' shit around some different scenery unless it involves a secluded beach. For me at least.........

Of course it's worth... We earn money for living a good life and for sure traveling is one of the most amazing elements of a good life... So let's travel as much as we can...💪

IMG_20180813_220223_439.jpg

well said

That's nice of you

Thanks for reading! what'd you think of the question? Is it worth it?

Actually spending money on traveling to me depends on the purpose of traveling. If its for adventure i would xefinately go for it especially if my friends will join me. Fun is fun

Fun is very fun but traveling can also be an education!! I think that's a huge purpose for it!

@triptolemus In my opinion we work most all the time even weekends busy doing house things we never get time to relax sometimes you start feeling like you are disappointed with this life.

To avoid this situation and have some relax time take your mind away from all these things re you all refreshed and enerjatic for few months. What do you guys think about my opinion?

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 88.66% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @triptolemus!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Woww Great post for travelling..
You see my blog i hope you like my photos :)
Thank you

Great post for travel bloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67